homepage logo

LHS honors the school year’s top athletes

By Staff | Jun 6, 2019

Lahainaluna High School Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch (left) and Principal Lynn Kahoohalahala (right) honor Outstanding Athletes of the Year Kawehi Gilcoat and Nanea Estrella. PHOTO BY GLEN PASCUAL.

LAHAINA – The student-athletes for the 2018-19 school year were honored at the annual Lahainaluna High School Athletic Awards Banquet at Hale Pa’ina on Wednesday, May 22.

The highlight event of the year for the Luna Athletic Department featured a dinner prepared by the cafeteria staff, awards presentations and a memorable slide show by Glen Pascual for all to enjoy.

Longtime Lahaina community advocate Rob Shelton served as the evening’s master of ceremonies to celebrate the historic school’s sports accomplishments over the just completed school year.

Topping the list were the Luna football team’s third consecutive Hawaii High School Athletic Association Division II State Championship, along with Maui Interscholastic League Championships in girls basketball (along with an unprecedented 175-game MIL winning streak), boys basketball, softball and boys wrestling.

Shelton then passed the microphone over to the coaches of each sport for these dedicated mentors to present the Most Valuable Player awards in their respective programs.

Girls volleyball coach Trixy Nuesca led off by introducing Alana Koa as the team’s honoree, followed by tennis coach Macario Pascual presenting to Ana Rodriguez Gomez and Joshua Calaoagan; Cynthia Monteleone to Gracie Marchesi and Zane Monteleone to Apakasi Felemi for track and field; Bradley Mason to Dakota Delos Reyes for water polo; Chris Baum to Trinity Scanlan and Sam Aki to Elias Gonzalez for soccer; Marc Watasaki to Elijah Oliveira Kalalau for boys volleyball; Peter Villatora to Gretchen Olson and Sutee Nitakorn to Matt Ramelb for golf; Garret Tihada to Ikaika Tihada Viela and Nyles Pokipala Waiohu for football; Tom Popdan to Jayden Yip and Lexi Anderson for swimming; Manny Portables to Mei Lei Wagner and Zarian Luis for canoe paddling; Dan Skousen to Kalea Acevedo Silva and Justice Perreira Aquino for cross country; Tim Acpal to Kamahao Acpal for baseball; Todd Hayase to Nanea Estrella and Kawehi Gilcoat for wrestling; Luke Adolfson to Madison Runyon and Nalu Ho for surfing; Lei Nakamura to Nohili Hong for softball; Mary Ann Corpuz to Tayler Pelegrino Hayase for cheerleading; and Ian Aotaki to Susitina Namoa and Jason Justus to Reece Pascua for basketball.

The featured award presentations of the evening went to Reece Pascua and Stacia Eng as the Scholar Athletes of the Year, Kawehi Gilcoat and Nanea Estrella as the Outstanding Athletes of the Year, and Dakota Delos Reyes and Reece Pascua as the Most Distinguished Senior Athletes of the year.

A long list of Lahainaluna administrators, teachers, staff and students, along with a dedicated community support group that organized and worked the event, was also recognized by Shelton and Luna Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch at the conclusion of ceremony.

Coach Scott had special thanks for the Banquet Committee of Assistant Athletic Director and Trainer Jon Conrad, Tanya Arakawa, Kathy Kekahuna, Irene Kosaka, Sharon Nohara and Coreen Serrano.

“It was amazing to see so many deserving honorees at this year’s banquet. It’s always great to see the results of all the hard work put in by the students and the coaches. A big mahalo to all the parents and families for supporting these students in their journey,” he concluded.