homepage logo

Team chemistry leads to success for Luna boys volleyball team

By Staff | May 2, 2019

The team includes (from left): front — Ken Alba, Jonah Damasco, Derek Perez, Roger Nifon, Richard Olmohs and MJ Domingo; back row — Kaleb Borromeo, Miki Tufuga, Elijah Oliveira Kalalau, Tekoa Sonognini, Koi Kekona, Hoi Krause, Brian Amby and Kaikane Shim.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School boys volleyball team moved up in the 2019 Maui Interscholastic League regular season standings into second place with a 7-5 record – their best effort in recent memory – and the Lunas advanced into the MIL Championships.

The Hawaii High School Athletic Association State Tournament is set for May 2-4 in Honolulu.

First-year head coach Marc Watasaki, assisted by Tricia Kama, credited the squad’s success to team chemistry.

“This team wants to play together and support one another. They have the will to improve in all phases of the game so the entire team gets better,” he said. “We lack consistency and have yet to have a game where all six guys on the court are firing on all six cylinders. It’s exciting to think about if all six players on the court put it together at one time.”

The 2019 roster includes seniors Jonah Damasco, Sheldon Frias, Hoi Krause, Koi Kekona, Tekoa Sinognini, Ilijah Oliveira Kalalau and Miki Tufuga; juniors Ken Alba, Derek Perez, Roger Nifon, Richard Olmohs, Keahi Shim, Kaleb Borromeo and MJ Domingo; and sophomores Dylan Nava and Brian Amby. Team managers included Aulani Casco Deleon, Hokulua Godoy and Jasmin Fujita.

“We’ve had an exciting season highlighted by our Senior Night, five-set win over Maui High at home in Jimmie H. Greig Gymnasium,” said Coach Watasaki. “We send our mahalo to the entire Lahaina community for their support, and thank you also to Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch, as well Trainers Jon Conrad and Becca Cohen, and all of the kids’ parents and families.”

Coach Marc also recognized a long list of volleyball supporters on the West Side, including Auntie Ray Kama, Justin Deleon, Lindsay Elam, Trixy Ganer, Ikaika Vasquez, Maluhia Scott, Fritz Ruiz, Justin Quitoriano, Jarren Rosquetta, Kia Kenolio, Rowel Ansagay, Aukai Kama, Cyrus Kama, Dan Schultz and Curtis Watasaki.