homepage logo

LHS football players honored

By Staff | Mar 12, 2015


LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School football program honored its players and coaches at the annual awards banquet held in the campus cafeteria on Sunday, March 1.

After a dinner sponsored by team boosters and Leilani’s on the Beach restaurant, co-head coach Garret Tihada led the program that recognized the players – particularly the 22 seniors – and coaches that led the team to an 11-1 record in the 2014 season, its tenth consecutive Maui Interscholastic League championship and a third appearance in the Division II state final at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

The coaches also recognized their families – particularly wives and girlfriends – for their understanding and support of Luna football.

And, after the players were honored, they in turn complimented all of the coaching staff for their guidance throughout their careers at Lahainaluna.

Co-head coach Bobby Watson added the program’s gratitude to the families of the players and coaches, as well as community supporters of the team.

A featured segment of the night was the presentation of the Arthur Osamu “Oscar” Chihara Memorial Football Scholarship Award.

The award, now into its 16th year, is given annually to two senior Luna players that most exemplify the passion and poise that the late Oscar Chihara gave on the gridiron as a linebacker, guard and team captain at University High School in Los Angeles in the mid-1960s.

The recognition that this year went to Connor Mowat and Jared Rocha Islas includes a $1,000 check, a custom plaque from Maui Marking Device and a beautiful lei courtesy of Sharon Nohara.

The scholarship award is funded by Michael and Jane Heagerty and the Harry W. Gorst Company. Michael and Jane were friends and business partners with Chihara before his unexpected passing, and they kept the promise of caring for one another’s families.

The Heagertys contacted the Chihara family in Lahaina 16 years ago and asked if there was anything they could do to perpetuate Chihara’s legacy.

The award was thus founded, and it has since presented over $30,000 to Lahainaluna football players for their sterling efforts.