homepage logo

Banquet ends great year for Lahainaluna sports

By Staff | Jun 5, 2014

The year’s top athletes were honored at a banquet on May 22. PHOTO BY GLEN PASCUAL.

LAHAINA – Lahainaluna High School’s Athletic Department celebrated one of the most successful years in history with the annual awards banquet held in the LHS cafeteria on May 22.

With a record-tying seven championship bars adorning the “L” on Pu’u Pa’u Pa’u (Mount Ball) above the historic campus, the student athletes of all of the Luna sports rosters were recognized at the annual affair put on by the Athletic Department led by Scott Soldwisch and assistant Jon Conrad, and emceed by stalwart Luna supporter Rob Shelton.

Also present were administrators Principal Emily DeCosta, Vice Principal Joanne Dennis and Vice Principal Keola Rogat. Special guests receiving recognition included Clifton Akiyama, Henry Ariyoshi, Ikaika Bennett, Ray Camacho, Lindsay Elam, Stuart Farrabow, Art Fillazar, Ivy Huerter, Wallace Ishikawa, Riely Ito, Denton Johnson, Alan Kawaguchi, Bob Kawaguchi, Andrew Kutsunai, Rae Matsumoto, Lindsay Ball, Steve Cornel, Michael Nakano, Glen Pascual, Jean Miyahira, Barbie Otomo, Debbie Rogers, Jeff Rogers, Don Rosenthal, Mark Tillman and Dean Wakamatsu.

The Maui Interscholastic League championships came in football, boys cross country, girls wrestling, boys wrestling, girls basketball, water polo, and girls surfing. Luna teams also made strong runs at MIL titles in softball, boys surfing, tennis and boys basketball.

On this night, all of the Lahainaluna student athletes were honored, with special recognition on the individual teams going to Nicole Aceret for girls tennis presented by Macario Pascual, Maile Altier for girls soccer by Jeremy Delos Reyes, Kaimana Ancog for baseball by Manu Kenolio, Kalena Au Shim for girls paddling from Joey Tihada, Loke Basques Rosenthal for girls basketball by Todd Rickard, Tomas Dreibelbis for boys volleyball by Dan Schultz, Breanna Dudoit Vasquez for girls wrestling by Todd Hayase, Kerek Franz for boys golf by Sutee Nitakorn, Courtney Galarita and Kimberly Yap for water polo by Bradley Mason, Bubba Jaramillo for boys wrestling by Conrad Bolor, Corban Kaikkonen for cross country by Dan Skousen and track and field by Andy Claydon, Bronson Kaina for football defense by Bobby Watson, Kiko Kohler Fonohema for football offense by Garret Tihada, and Nicholas Lee for paddling by Joey Tihada.

Also recognized were Sierra Lerback for girls surfing by Luke Adolfson, Max Linder for boys tennis by Macario Pascual, Keoni Miranda for boys soccer by Sam Aki, Kawena Murray for girls volleyball by Lei Nakamura, Lithe Pokipala Waiohu for softball by Lei Nakamura, Courtney Ruidas for cheerleading by Stacy Shibao, Kailey Sager for girls cross country by Dan Skousen, Nainoa Steward for boys surfing by Luke Adolfson, Shawn Takahashi for boys bowling by Erik Jennings, Brianne Tuipulotu for girls bowling by Erik Jennings, Nick Vierra for boys basketball by John Dudley, Caitlyn Villatora for girls golf by Laura Jones, Sydney Wagner for girls swimming by Tom Popdan, Rhett Wiseman for boys swimming by Popdan, and Breea Yamat for girls track and field by Andy Claydon.

The Lahainaluna High School Outstanding Athletic Awards presentation climaxed the evening, with Kailey Sager and Corban Kaikkonen honored as Scholar Athletes of the Year, Lithe Pokipala Waiohu and Bubba Jaramillo as Outstanding Athletes of the Year, and Kelsey Shultz and Bronson Kaina as Most Distinguished Senior Athletes.

Mahalo to the Lahainaluna cafeteria staff led by Ray Camacho for the outstanding dinner, to Glen Pascual and Art Fillazar for the photos used in the slide show presentation, to Sandy Simpson and Earl Zaan for the flowers and foliage in the center pieces that brightened up the entire cafeteria, and to Coach Scott, Coach Jon and the everlasting Lunas booster group made up of Tanya Arakawa, Kathy Kekahuna, Irene Kosaka, Sharon Nohara and Coreen Serrano.

Sincere thank you goes out to the coaches, parents, families, staff and the West Maui community of our student athletes. The support and encouragement are what make Lahainaluna athletics No Ka ‘Oi – the best! Imua Lunas!