homepage logo

Royal Lahaina Tennis Club players advance to national championships

By Staff | May 30, 2013

Royal Lahaina Tennis Club includes (from left): back — Coach Lee Killett, Zack Fernando, Isiah Buduan, Kyle Killett and Coach Manny Fernando; front row — Nikki Fernando, Jessica Griffiths, Ailana Suehiro and Kaitlyn Ralar.

KAANAPALI – Royal Lahaina Tennis Club won the USTA Junior Team Tennis Spring Section Championships’ 14 and under 3.0 Division on May 18-19 at Central Oahu Regional Park.

This statewide event featured 45 teams with over 360 players ranging from ages 8-18 in 11 skill/age division levels.

Royal Lahaina Tennis Club advanced to the USTA Junior Team Tennis National Championships in South Carolina in October.

Coached by Manny Fernando and Lee Killett, the team is made up of Zack Fernando, Kyle Killett, Isiah Buduan, Ailana Suehiro, Jessica Griffiths, Kaitlyn Ralar and Nikki Fernando.

This is the second team from Maui to represent the Hawaii Pacific Section in this prestigious tournament.