homepage logo

Three Maui surfers invited to Billabong Pro, Tahiti trials

By Staff | Aug 12, 2010

Clay Marzo was invited to compete in the exclusive Air Tahiti Nui VonZipper Trials at Teahupo‘o in Tahiti. Photo by Robertson/ASP.

WEST MAUI — Fifteen Hawaii surfers — including three from Maui — and one Mainland U.S. surfer are among an elite field of 32 international surfers invited to compete in the prestigious Air Tahiti Nui VonZipper Trials scheduled at the notorious break of Teahupo‘o in Tahiti over four days beginning Aug. 16.

The Air Tahiti Nui VonZipper Trials is a precursor to stop five on the ASP Men’s World Tour, the Billabong Pro, Tahiti.

The trials winner is guaranteed a wildcard seed direct into the Billabong Pro’s elite main event. A second position is open to the Tahitian surfer that fares the best in the trials.

The list of Hawaii invitees includes Ian Walsh, Hank Gaskell and Clay Marzo of Maui, and Bruce Irons, Gavin Gillette, Kamalei Alexander, Steven Koehne, Jon Florence, Conan Hayes, Danny Fuller, Sion Miloski, Reef McIntosh, Marcus Hickman, Jamie Sterling and Kalani Chapman.

San Clemente’s Dane Ward is the lone U.S.-based surfer who will compete in the trials.

An additional field of 32 local Tahitian surfers make up the total trials field of 64.

Follow the contest live at www.billabongpro.com.