homepage logo

All-star games to conclude great basketball season

By Staff | Mar 11, 2010

Tiny Mite players and coaches congratulate one another after their final game of the season last week at Lahaina Civic Center.

LAHAINA — The West Maui Youth Basketball League will celebrate its 26th season with the annual Lahaina Outback Steakhouse All-Star Game and Awards event this Saturday, March 13, at the Lahaina Civic Center gymnasium.

Some 420 boys and girls ranging in age from five to 14 will be honored for their participation in one of Maui County’s top youth athletic programs.

On Saturday, awards will be presented that emphasize WMYBL’s focus within the National Alliance for Youth Sportsmanship (NAYS) program. This recognition includes a youth sportsmanship award to a player in each of the three divisions — Tiny Mites for ages 5-7, Peewees (8-10) and Midgets (11-14) — and an award to the teams in each division that displayed outstanding sportsmanship on the court. A coach/mentor in each division will also be honored for outstanding leadership.

These awards will be announced at half-time of each all-star game. The team sportsmanship awards were presented earlier in the week to the Tiny Mite Celtics coached by Lee-Aaron Yap, the Peewee Pistons led by Gerald Ching and the Midget Knicks guided by Malik Lewis.

The all-star contests that feature the elite players of the WMYBL will begin with the Tiny Mites match-up at 9 a.m., Peewees at 10:30 a.m. and the Midgets at noon.

The Tiny Mite Division did not keep score over the regular season, but the Peewee Division race was won by the Bulls coached by Greg Vanderlaan, and the Midgets title came down to the wire in a tight finish between the Magic led by Al Dasugo and the Pistons coached by Mario Balagso.

The player roster for the Tiny Mites East Team, coached by Andy Alavaso of the Rebels, includes Rylend Nobriga of the Lakers; Ikaika Galarita of the Pistons; Ka‘aeo Kanemitsu, Amysti Pali and Vakea Atay of the Knicks; Kamaka Ko and Justin Deleon of the Rebels; Kai Casco and Eli Hanneman of the Rainbows; and Malino Jacinto and Joshua Damaso of the Bulls.

The West squad, led by Lee-Aaron Yap from the Celtics, and will be made up of Aliya Harmon and Kaleb Chun representing the Clippers; Max McKuin and Nalu Hu of the Magic; Aaron Ensminger of the Celtics; Mark Ortiz and Jeremiah McCall of the Blazers; Tre Rickard, Treven Tihada and Joshua Tihada of the Timberwolves; and Steve Savou of the Hawks.

The Peewee East Team, guided by Mamo Hussey of the Rebels, includes Kyle Shultz, Tahjan Kruck and Garver Locke from the Bulls; Siale Hafoka and Kahanu Haake of the Celtics; Todd Pennington of the Lakers; Sky Freeman and Richard Chun of the Blazers; Pono Murray and Kaya Phillips of the Rebels; and Nainoa Ko and Kawai Regidor of the Knicks.

The West lineup, led by Liko Rogers representing the Hawks, and is made up of Kalolaine Uhila and Ty Bates from the Magic; Ezra Macadangdang of the Rockets; Tavake Faleta and Matini Kaai of the Rainbows; Brielle McKinney and Josiah McEwen of the Timberwolves; C.J. Palma and Hezain Cardenas of the Hawks; and Izaak Domingo, Shanden Agapay and Kenneth Padua of the Pistons.

For the Midget contest, the East will be guided by John Carlton, with a roster of Aloha Salem and Justice Lewis from the Knicks; Joshua Corpuz, Christian Cesar, Hunter Ramelb and Renzo Corpuz of the Timberwolves; Hercules Mataafa and Bronson Vierra of the Magic; and Keoni Miranda, Marvin Sidon, Joshua Malacas and Rhett Wiseman of the Celtics.

The Hawks’ Ray Lasco will coach the West team made up of Brandon Agapay, Lorenzo Allen, Kaliko Dusenberry and Windell Taylan from the Pistons; Kamaka Pamat and Peni Taufa of the Lakers; Leelan Alavazo, Jansen Domingo and Ansen Cabanilla of the Hawks; and Cody Halaapiapi, Ariel Domingo and Ryan Madera of the Blazers.

League Commissioner Don Rosenthal praised all involved in the success of the season: “The program really went great this year, and I would like to thank all the staff, the kids, the families and the sponsors. I think everybody had a good time, and it’s great to see the success of the high school program that takes basketball here in West Maui to a new high. My wife, Phyllis, has put up with me for another year, and I thank God for that!”

WMYBL sponsors include the Lahaina Chiefs, Make ‘m’ Sick Softball, Mamo’s No Ka Oi Landscaping, Alii Keiki, UFO Parasail, Taimanedream.com, Maui Marriott, Lahaina Pizza Co., LYC Boomvangers, SHOPO, Maui Photo World, Jim Falk Motors, PWC Hawaii, Spikes Westside Ink, Brown Development, Hula Grill, Kahana Family Dental, Leilani’s on the Beach, Pacific Painting, ABM Family Services, Maui Tacos, Kimo’s, Blackie’s Pit Stop, Kaanapali Beach Hotel, Kumulani Chapel, Brands Cleaning Services, One Main Plaza, Lahaina Carpet, Kaanapali Alii, Discount Carpet, Bad Ass Coffee, Island Style Adventures, Local Boys West, West Maui Mountain Adventures, Scott Bros. Pacific, Maui Disposal, 808 Tree Service, Carpet Steve’s Flooring, Mana Health Foods, Valley Isle Produce, 808 Jiu Jitsu, Wild Edge Landscaping, Caputo Family, Foster Family, Honolua Surf Co., Lahaina Plumbing, James G. Ward Contractor and Ed’s Union Service.