homepage logo

LHS honors the year’s top athletes

By Staff | Jun 11, 2009

LAHAINA — Sponsored by the Booster Club, the Lahainaluna High School Athletic Awards banquet was held on May 24 at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel.

Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch organized the packed event that honored student-athletes from 27 boys and girls athletic programs. Outstanding Athletic Awards were also presented to highlight the evening.

“After attending the Lahainaluna Athletic Awards banquet as a coach and later as a parent, I was proud to stand in front of the Lahainaluna ‘ohana as their athletic director to honor the student-athletes and their coaches,” said Soldwisch.

“I am thankful to the staff and all of the coaches for the effort put forth this year and for the conscientious effort in making the selections for these awards. I am also grateful to the Booster Club (Tanya Arakawa, Sharon Nohara, Coreen Serrano, Kathy Kekehuna and Irene Kosaka) for their help in putting the event together.”

Soldwisch praised the students and congratulated them all for their efforts in the 2008-09 school year. The Lunas won four Maui Interscholastic League championships, including girls basketball for the fifth consecutive year, wrestling for the fourth straight season, water polo for the fourth straight year, and football for the second year in a row.

The Most Valuable Player awards went to Jordan Casco for baseball (Coach Gary Gatiuan), Reimers Pinho for boys basketball (Coach Eric Balinbin), Rachael Rickard for girls basketball (Coach Todd Rickard), Nico Serafico and Dejarhae Macugay for bowling (Coach Wil Hutchison), Rikki-Lynn Ancog for cheerleading (Coach Stacy Shibao), Brandon Mulholland and Kira Carlton for cross country (Coach Randy Yamamoto), Jake Manning for football offense (Coach Garret Tihada), Jayson Manning for football defense (Coach Jayson Manning), Chris Shimomura for boys golf (Coach Sutee Nitakorn), AnAn Hua for girls golf (Coach Lee Munemitsu), Jacob Boteilho and Davilynn Ganer for paddling (Coach Joey Tihada), Saumalu Mata‘afa for boys soccer (Coach Sam Aki), Rachelle Chavez and Haley Miller for girls soccer (Coach Dave Rockett), Jamelynn Smythe for softball (Coach Lei Nakamura), Jake Rodrique for boys swimming (Coach Wil Hutchison), Kamaehu Alboro for girls swimming (Coach Tom Popdan), Stephen Adolfson for boys tennis (Coach Macario Pascual), Jackie Owens for girls tennis (Coach Lisa Paulson), Bryson Williams and Jordyn Kilgore for track and field (Coach Randy Yamamoto), Jayson Manning for boys volleyball (Coach Tommy Akima), Tia Keanini for girls volleyball (Coach Hano Ganer), Moanalani Tuipulotu for water polo (Coach Wil Hutchison) and Edison Hidalgo and Cole Loewen for wrestling (Coach Todd Hayase).

In the feature presentations of the evening, the Outstanding Athletic Awards, Kim Ball presented the Distinguished Coaches Award to Neal Nakata; Lindsay Ball recognized Jacob Boteilho and Hailey Gill as the Most Distinguished Senior Athletes; Joe Balangitao Jr. honored Jayson Manning and Jackie Owens as the Outstanding Athletes of the Year; and Principal Michael Nakano brought Elizabeth Lagbas and Cole Loewen up to the stage as the Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Master of ceremonies Rob Shelton, Lahainaluna High School Foundation president, concluded the evening by saying, “We send a big mahalo to the coaches, parents, family, friends and staff of our student-athletes. Your support and encouragement makes Lahainaluna athletics no ka oi. Imua Lunas!”