homepage logo

Farm bureau announces its 2018 Membership Awards

By Staff | Oct 11, 2018

Justin Teixeira and his family were honored with the Farm Family of the Year Award.

KULA – The Maui County Farm Bureau (MCFB) Board of Directors and Executive Director Warren K. Watanabe held their General Membership Meeting at Kula Community Center on Sept. 19. More than 50 members attended.

Darren Strand, MCFB board president, led the meeting. He presented the annual awards to Mae Nakahata (Member of the Year), Teena Rasmussen (Friend of Agriculture), Justin Teixeira and Family (Farm Family of the Year) and Sherri Grimes (Mike Lyons Award).

The Mike Lyons Award is presented annually to a member of the community recognized for supporting Maui agriculture and the Maui County Farm Bureau.

“The recipient of the Mike Lyons Award is not a member of MCFB, but rather a community member who goes above and beyond to further a healthy and viable agriculture industry on Maui,” said Watanabe.

Anders Lyons, the son of Mike Lyons, attended the meeting to present the award.

The bureau recognized Mae Nakahata with its Member of the Year Award.

MCFB also held its annual board elections. Elected to two-year terms were Heidi Watanabe, Brandon Shim, Kyle Caires, James “Kimo” Falconer and Annette Niles.

Holdover board members are Darren Strand, Brendan Balthazar, Carver Wilson, Justin Teixeira and Joe McClure.

MCFB is a grassroots 501(c)(5) organization of farms and ranch families, agricultural industries and associated organizations dedicated to supporting agriculture in Maui County.

It is affiliated with both the statewide Hawaii Farm Bureau Federation and the American Farm Bureau.

MCFB’s mission is to represent, protect and advance the social, economic and educational interests of the agricultural community of Maui County.