homepage logo

Realtors award 39 scholarships

By Staff | Jul 29, 2010

WAILUKU — The Realtors Association of Maui awards scholarships of at least $1,000 each to young people graduating from Maui County high schools each year.

Since 2008, RAM also has allowed students who earned scholarships in previous years to renew their awards to help them continue their college careers.

The 2010 RAM Presidential Scholarship winners were presented to the general membership of the association at a meeting on July 16.  

Maui graduates who earned RAM scholarships this year are listed below.

Lahainaluna High School: Jacqueline Michelle Owens, Washington State University; and first-time scholarship winners Blake Ball, The University of Texas at Austin; Wasseem Bel, University of Colorado at Boulder; Jing Hua, University of California-Davis; Fredeliz Misay, University of Portland; Evan Conner Pascual, University of Hawaii at Manoa; and Jenifer Santos, Azusa Pacific University.  

St. Anthony High School: Michael T. Chau, who is studying at the University of San Diego, earned his second award.

Seabury Hall: First-time RAM scholarship winners Inanna Carter, Harvard University; Hiroki Ichinose, New York University Tisch School of the Arts; Sierra Jacob, Western Washington University; and Mark Rice Walker Jr., University of Utah.

King Kekaulike High School: Mikaela Lum, University of Hawaii at Manoa; and first-time winners Alana Fernandez, Seattle University; Caroline Foti, University of Hawaii Maui College; Kelsey M. Madigan, Chapman University; and Charles Marley Rutkowski, University of Portland.      

Kamehameha Schools Maui: Cayla R. M. Morimoto, The University of Texas at Austin; Preston K. Tavares, University of San Diego; and Brianna T. Vargas-Hafoka, University of Hawaii at Manoa.       

Hana High School: Joshua O. Weigang, Southern Oregon University; Lucas Weigang, Oregon State University; and first-time winners Joseph Kahaleuahi, Oregon State University; and Tyrea Smith, University of Mobile.

Baldwin High School: Chentell Stiritz, Wheaton College; Nitasha Stiritz, Point Loma Nazarene University; and first-time awardees Tyler Blair, University of Hawaii at Manoa; and JodiAnn K. Tomooka, Southern Oregon University.

Realtors Association of Maui President Bruce Faulkner said, “These outstanding young people make us very proud. We are looking forward to seeing the great things they will do with their lives and careers, and to the success in their future endeavors.”

Since the inception of the RAM Presidential Scholarship Fund in 1989, a total of $349,000 has been presented to scholars graduating from high school.