homepage logo

Aloha Concert was amazing

By Staff | May 31, 2018

The Aloha Concert presented last week by the Lahainaluna High School Music Department has got to be one of the West Side’s best kept secrets.

Before an intimate audience that included mostly family and friends of the 300 student artists that comprise the school’s effervescent music programs, an evening of songs, instrumental compositions and majorette routines was presented to the delight of those in attendance.

Moreover, the heartwarming enthusiasm and camaraderie of these budding musical stars shone brighter and brighter as the evening moved merrily along. Led by Lahainaluna Music Department maestro Myron Carlos, who served as master of ceremonies throughout the evening, the polished compositions and organized transitions touched the heartstrings of all in the Jimmie H. Greig Gymnasium.

Mr. Carlos, now moving toward 20 years guiding the LHS Music Department, was assisted throughout the year by his wife, Jayme Carlos; Sensei Jon Shigaki; and Debbie Domogma.

This leadership group organized the participation of the 300 student artists in concert performances throughout the year, highlighted by a trip to the Holiday Bowl in San Diego, California.

The Aloha Concert included performances by the Lahainaluna Majorettes, the Aloha Line, the Winter Guard, the Concert Choir, the Jazz Band, the Concert Band and a combined finale by the entire ensemble.

Mr. Carlos then introduced the award-winning individual and Maui All-Star Band members before moving on to the salute to the seniors on this evening of aloha.

The 33 seniors honored included 12 four-year participants: Ke’ale Bagoyo, Zachary Cabingas, Pablo Cruz Soto, Angel Fontanos, Jemae Gonzales, Serrana Martinez, Ruben Miranda Prado, Erin Nishimura, Owen Perndergast, Everett Prieto, Charlene Ramos and Jordan Shibao.

They were joined by classmates Ryan Agabayani, Justine Ambida, Ezekiel Kyle Aquino, Mariel Baclay, Areli Bernal, Krystaleia Bettencourt, Natalie Brown, Elizabeth Callnan, Rocio “Que Bonita” Cano Cruz, Elsa Castillo, Spencer Felice, Rubi Gachuz, March Lataine Garde, Estefania Gonzalez Luis, Kieren Groh, Eduardo Leon Hernandez, Raymond Makaula, Kennedy Makekau, Ally McBride, Valeria Rodriguez and Pomaikai Tampon.

An unforgettable evening showcased the pure joy, talent and dedication of the entire department and manifested the deep-rooted philosophy of malama pono at Lahainaluna. Congratulations to all and mahalo to Myron and Jayme Carlos and Sensei Shigaki for your dedication to the student artists.

The tradition continues… (By Walter Chihara)