homepage logo

Twenty-four Valedictorians lead Lahainaluna Class of 2021

By BY WALTER CHIHARA - | Jun 4, 2021

Congratulations to the 244-strong Lahainaluna High School Class of 2021, which graduated on Sunday, May 23, at Sue D. Cooley Stadium on campus. A drive-through celebration for the seniors was held the day before in Kaanapali. PHOTO BY GLEN PASCUAL.

LAHAINA — The sterling tradition of Lahainaluna High School was carried forward on May 23, as the 244 seniors of the Class of 2021 received their diplomas and walked the line in the evening ceremony held at Sue D Cooley Stadium on campus.

Attendance was limited to family members due to health protocols.

Weathering the turmoil of the COVID-19 pandemic, this senior class maintained the torch of tradition that enriches the community and the world at large.

They will move forward to higher education in colleges all across the nation, to Career & Technical Education (CTE) and to military training to serve the country.

Lahainaluna College and Career Counselor Kristy Arakawa estimated that some 60 percent of the seniors applied to college, and 204 seniors successfully completed their pathway concentration for CTE.

Thirty-seven seniors received CTE Honors (the highest honor for the program); four students received Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Honors for completing their capstone project; eight seniors earned the Hawaii Department of Education’s Seal of Biliteracy; and two seniors graduated from the school’s Ke Kula Kaiapuni o Lahainaluna (Hawaiian Immersion Program).

Over 60 percent of the Class of 2021 received academic honors.

Forty-eight earned Cum Laude recognition with a grade point average of 3.0-3.5, 37 were recognized Magna Cum Laude at 3.5-3.8 GPA, and 46 seniors earned a GPA of 3.8 or higher to receive Summa Cum Laude honors.

Some $719,000 scholarships have been reported thus far.

The ceremony honored a long list of 24 class Valedictorians: Lance Abut, Alexa Acosta, Abigail Akamine, Ashley Akamine, Elizabeth Ankney, Cassia Arnold, Caitlin Baclay, Kendall Beam, Trinity Belmont, Adrian Benito, Taryn Cabingas, Andrew Claydon, Shaden Flores, Akira Foreman, Ariana Pacleb, Malia Pitzer, Cherry Anne Ramos, Ana Paula Rodriguez-Gomez, Rebecca Seguro, Shania Tumpap, Victoria Vera, Charlise Wurts, Regina Yagin and Cael Yasutake.

The Class of 2021 officers included President Kiana Marose B. Sunio, Vice President Hokulua Godoy, Secretary Atela Finau and Treasurer Lance Abut.

The seniors were also recognized for their service on the Student Council as Associated Student Body officers. They are ASB President Jumar Dela Cruz; Vice President Andrea Marie Del Rosario; Secretary Ana Paula Rodriguez Gomez; Secretary Sherlyn Pedroza; Treasurer Erika Ramos Lagunas; Historian Jadelyn Fujii; Representatives Kulia Phillips, Alexa Camryn Acosta and Shania Tumpap; and Media Technicians Patricia Morales and Chelsea Justin Bright Adoras.

Graduation planning was done by Jackie Ellis, Pakalana Phillips, Gary Reiss, Principal Jeri Dean and Vice Principals Ilima Greig-Hong and Denise Lacro.

Congratulations to the Lahainaluna High School Class of 2021! Best wishes and aloha to you all!