homepage logo

Maui Prep to hold graduation on July 31

By Staff | May 21, 2020

Congratulations to the Maui Preparatory Academy Class of 2020!

NAPILI – Led by Valedictorian Ava Merrill and Salutatorian Jerone Samari, the Maui Preparatory Academy Class of 2020 is scheduled to hold a graduation ceremony on July 31, 2020.

Maui Prep students are in school every day – just online from home.

Students follow a schedule that is a mix of face-to-face instruction over Zoom and independent project work time.

The last day of instruction for the 2019-20 school year will be Friday, May 22.

The Class of 2020 is comprised of Makana Boote, Olivia Bozich, Chloe Chin, Harrison Cramond, Nadine Cunha, Griffin Gibson, Hunter Higgins, Eva-Marie Kareneva-Simpson, Tyler Kirby, Ava Merrill, Banyan Neece, Perry Madison, Jerone Samari, Dylan Smart, Natalie Smart, Wilson Tinkler and Gabriella Wells.

Honors/Outstanding students include Olivia Bozich – Student Body President and National Honor Society Member; Ava Merrill – National Merit Scholar, Senior Class President, Science Olympiad Medalist, Interact Club Vice President and National Honor Society President; Banyan Neece – Student Body Vice President; Chloe Chin – Yearbook Editor, Science Olympiad Medalist, Interact Club President and National Honor Society Secretary; Jerone Samari – Science Olympiad Medalist and National Honor Society Treasurer; Eva-Maria Kareneva-Simpson – National Honor Society Member; Hunter Higgins – National Honor Society Member; Griffin Gibson – National Honor Society Member; Harrison Cramond – National Honor Society Member; and Gabriella Wells – National Honor Society Vice President.

Athletic standouts include three-sport athletes Olivia Bozich, Ava Merrill and Jerone Samari (state swim champion); four-sport athlete Harrison Cramond; and 2018 Maui Interscholastic League Bodyboard Champion Ty Kirby.