homepage logo

Lahainaluna wrestlers ready to compete at HHSAA State Championships

By Staff | Feb 20, 2020

Pictured in action at the recent Maui Interscholastic League Round Robin Tourney, elite Lahainaluna High School wrestler Nanea Estrella will compete for her fourth state title at the Hawaii High School Athletic Association State Championships next week on Oahu. PHOTO BY GLEN PASCUAL.

LAHAINA – Lahainaluna High School wrestling has caught fire at precisely the right time, as both the girls and boys teams captured their respective Maui Interscholastic League titles last week at Kamehameha Schools Maui.

The Luna boys totaled 190 points to defeat arch rival Baldwin with 180, while the Lady Lunas rang up a whopping total of 185 to easily beat the Lady Bears with 127 points.

The Lahainaluna wrestlers now set their sights on the Hawaii High School Athletic Association State Championships next week at the Neal Blaisdell Center in Honolulu.

The Luna boys finished third at states last year, while the girls took fourth place.

Individually, team captain Nanea Estrella, in the 132-pound weight class, looks to become only the second MIL wrestler to win four state championships, joining former Lahainaluna standout Lalelei Mataafa to accomplish the superlative title.

At 184 pounds, MIL champ Shannon Jaramillo will compete for her second state championship.

Joining them at states will be MIL champions Nalani Kirkman at 102 pounds, Teani Medeiros Maielua at 107, Kivah Caballero at 112, Alicia Frank at 117, Fayannie Rosario at 155 and Mikohu Hapakuka at 225.

Silver medalists Naiomi Kulukulualani-Sales at 97 pounds, Lydia Dudoit at 122 and Laiekawai Tancayo at 127 will also compete for state honors.

On the other side of the mat, the Luna boys will also send 11 competitors to the state championships.

They will be led by tri-captains and MIL gold medalists Jesse “Fatty” Dudoit at 145 pounds, Kanoa Lanoza at 126 and Cael Yasutake at 113. They will be joined by MIL champs Jayse Koyama at 105, Dawson Nolasco at 132 and Matai Mataafa at 195.

Other state qualifiers include Cyrus Freitas at 152, Cyrus Cook at 160, Enoka Phillips at 182, Kaeo Pedroza Kanemitsu at 220 and Austin Saribay at 285.

“This is a very young team, inexperienced, but that made it all the more exciting,” commented head coach Todd Hayase, who is assisted by Conrad Bolor, Zane Monteleone, Shane Cunanan, Sheldon Tateyama, Donovan Seno Jr. Boy Bolor, Neal Nakata, Kim Ball, Nao Ah Puck and Keaka Kuaana this season. “We always think of the Lahainaluna way, of ‘Kaizen,’ the endless pursuit of excellence.”

“We extend our mahalo to all the family support, the Lahaina wrestling ‘ohana, all the fundraising efforts for travel to preseason and post-season tournaments, to Old Lahaina Luau, Kimo’s Restaurant, John Alexander and CJ Casco at the Lahainaluna Cafeteria, Kai Keahi and Lani Kane, Kaanapali Beach Hotel and to the entire West Side community.”