homepage logo

Rotarians recognize scholarship winners

By Staff | Aug 15, 2019

Scholarship winners include (from left): front — Jaimelee Felipe, Katebel Jose and Nida Bergoust; back row — Alana Battad, Josh Ooka, Adam Purdy and Briana Bandy. Not pictured are Evelyn Haase, Jade Torgerson and Alejandro Prieto Alvarez. PHOTO BY JOANNE LAIRD.

KAHULUI – The ten Rotary Clubs on Maui and Lanai recently celebrated the recipients of the Hawaii Rotary Youth Scholarships. A celebration luncheon was held at The Class Act Restaurant at the University of Hawaii Maui College. Seven of the ten recipients attended along with their parents and a representative from eight of the ten Rotary Clubs.

The Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation (HRYF) was founded by Maurice J. “Sully” Sullivan during his year as Rotary’s District Governor in Hawaii, 1976-77.

It was Sully’s desire to assist Hawaii’s high school graduates realize their potential by attending a college or university of their choice here in Hawaii or on the mainland United States.

He felt that HRYF could be the vehicle to teach our young people about the advantages of the free enterprise system, the basis of our democracy. Each recipient received $5,000 toward future college expenses. The students were selected by their sponsoring Rotary Clubs.

Recipients and their respective colleges of choice are: Josh Ooka (Baldwin High School), UCLA; Evelyn Haase (Molokai High School), Reed College; Jaimelee Felipe (Kamehameha Maui), Davidson College; Jade Torgerson (Kihei Charter High School), Colorado State University; Katebel Jose (King Kekaulike High School), University of Oregon; Briana Bandy (Lahainaluna High School), Arizona State University; Adam Purdy (Lanai High School), Minot State University; Nida Bergoust (Maui High School), Boise State University; Alejandro Prieto Alvarez (Maui Preparatory Academy), Hawaii Pacific University; and Alana Battad (Seabury Hall), University of San Francisco.

The recipients each shared their future goals with the luncheon attendees.

According to Ooka, “My goal is to be able to give back to Maui’s community through healthcare; therefore, I am grateful for this scholarship for helping make my aspirations a reality.”

Bandy said, “Receiving this scholarship will allow me to achieve my goals, after which I can return home to help educate future generations.”

The HRYF Scholarship Foundation is one of the many Youth Service Projects sponsored by the 51 Rotary Clubs in the State of Hawaii.

For more information, contact HRYF Maui Trustee Joanne Laird at mamalrd01@gmail.com.