homepage logo

Lahainaluna High School Foundation to administer 70 scholarships

By Staff | Feb 28, 2019

Last year, board President Mark Tillman presented the four $1,000 Lahainaluna High School Foundation Scholarships to (from left) Keiko Aotaki, Kaitlin Hodgins, Tori Tihada and Kyra Franz.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School Foundation is pleased to announce that during this scholarship season, it will be administering 70 scholarships, including renewals, for a total award amount of $136,000.

Lahainaluna seniors can apply for all scholarships through the common application form available on the LHSF website and through the school’s College and Career Counseling Center. This is the foundation’s 18th year awarding scholarships. Application deadline is Wednesday, April 3, 2019.

There are two inaugural scholarships to add this year: The Brian Kelly Memorial Music Scholarship, which is currently at $1,250 but is continuing to receive donations. The scholarship has been endowed starting next year. Kelly was the LHS music director for 30 years and a founding member of LHSF.

In addition, the Wo Hing Society has created an annual $1,000 scholarship to be given to a student of Chinese ancestry.

Continuing their support for this important program are scholarships in the amount of $500: Mark & Judy Ellman, Bonnie Ann Fijal Memorial, Ilocandia Filipino Store, Sammy Kadotani Service Award, Lahaina Fish Co., Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club (plus renewals), Holly & Rob Manning-Homes & Land Magazine of Maui Magazine, RVN Restaurant, and Valley Isle Community Federal Credit Union.

Scholarships for $1,000 include 5A Rent-A-Space, Maureen Setsuko Ariyoshi Memorial, Luly Baker, Bank of Hawaii-Lahaina Branch, Boss Frog’s Dive & Surf, Central Pacific Bank-Lahaina Branch, Ebrahim Gabbay M.D. Memorial, Blackie Gadarian Vocational (3), Kaanapali Land Management Corp., Sgt. James Kusuda Memorial, Lahainaluna Boarders’ Association, Lahainaluna High School Foundation (4), Na Hoaloha Ekolu (plus renewals), Michael M. Nakano Leadership Award, Alfredo “Fred” Sarian Memorial, Sentry Tournament of Champions, Territorial Savings-Lahaina Branch, The Masters at Kaanapali Hillside-Blaze Kalilikani Memorial, TS Restaurants (Duke’s Beach House, Hula Grill, Kimo’s, and Leilani’s on the Beach), Maui County Federal Credit Union (5), Shelton ‘Ohana (plus renewals) and the Kelsi Ka’ahui and Chanse Uyeda Memorial.

Scholarships also include Kiiko & Juan Cabanilla Sr. ($1,500); Roy & Betty Sakamoto ($1,500, plus renewals); H&K Takenaga Legacy ($1,500); Kihachiro J. Hotta Memorial Endowed ($2,000); Steven R. Strong M.D. Memorial ($2,500); Makana Aloha Foundation ($5,000, plus renewals); Shigeru & Toyoko Ichiki Endowed ($10,000, plus renewals); and $20,000 Front Street (renewal only).

“Our thanks to all the donors who continue to support this community through the LHSF Scholarship Program. Best of luck to this year’s graduating class,” the foundation noted.