homepage logo

Three West Side Rotary Clubs capture awards at Rotary District Conference

By Staff | Jun 7, 2018

Presidents of the three West Maui Rotary Clubs — from left, Joanne Laird (Lahaina Sunset), Rick Nava (Lahaina) and Dr. Anne Biedel (Lahaina Sunrise) — display their “Award Frisbees” earned at the recent 2018 Rotary District 5,000 Annual Conference.

LAHAINA – The Rotary International 2018 District 5,000 Conference was recently held at the Four Seasons Ko Olina Resort on Oahu. At this annual conference, District Governor Nalani Flinn presented awards to clubs that were judged in a number of categories for final determination of Club of the Year.

Rotary International District 5,000 is comprised of 53 clubs. There are 22 small clubs (22 or less members), 18 medium clubs (23-40 members) and 13 large clubs (41-plus members) in the district.

The awards were presented at the event during the Academy Awards-type ceremony. Award “Frisbee” patches were presented to the first runner-up and then the first place winner in each size division for seven categories: Community Service, Club Service, Vocational Service, Youth Service, International Service, Public Image, and Membership Growth.

Club presidents submitted information on their club’s activities in each category during the Rotary International year, July 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018. The submissions and one-page narratives were then reviewed and rated by presidents in categories other than their own. Ratings were then submitted to the awards chair for final tabulation.

The Rotary Club of Lahaina received the first place award in the International Service category for Medium Clubs. They were recognized for their accomplishment in their club-sponsored clean water project in Tacloban City, Philippines. Accepting the award for this club was President Rick Nava.

The Rotary Club of Lahaina Sunrise received the first runner-up awards in the International Service and Youth Service category for Medium Clubs. They were recognized for their International Service accomplishments in assisting with the clean water project in Tacloban City.

In Youth Service, they were recognized for their ongoing support and incorporation of Lahainaluna High School Interact Club members in many community service projects. Accepting the awards for this club was President Dr. Anne Biedel.

The Rotary Club of Lahaina Sunset was named Small Club of the Year for earning the following first place awards in the Small Club Division: Vocational Service, Club Service, Youth Service, Public Image, and International Service. They were named first runner-up for Membership Growth and Community Service. Accepting the awards was club Co-president Joanne Laird.

Key projects in each first place category included:

Vocational Service – For vocational talks and conducting monthly socials for networking purposes;

Club Service – For participating in 65 club activities and fellowship events;

Youth Service – For chartering the Kihei Elementary School EarlyAct Student Council group;

International Service – For the successful Pennies for Polio Drive with the EarlyAct Club;

Public Image – For having over 45 articles published in Lahaina News and The Maui News.

First runner-up category activities included Membership Growth for an increase of 34 percent, and for Community Service, for the Monthly Go-for-the-Green Recycling project with Malama Maui Nui.

According to Laird, “All three of the West Maui Rotary Club members tirelessly work to help make our Maui community and the world a better place. We especially relate to this quote by Muhammed Ali: ‘Service to others is the rent we pay for our room here on Earth.’ All of us know the true meaning of the Rotary motto ‘Service Above Self.’ “

Ten of the 53 clubs that make up Rotary District 5,000 are located on Maui and Lanai. Rotary is a leadership organization made up of local business, professional and civic leaders. Members meet regularly, get to know each other, form friendships and get things done in the community.

For more information, contact West Maui Assistant District Governor Marti Wukelic via e-mail at martirotary@yahoo.com.