homepage logo

Students join Lahainaluna High School National Honor Society

By Staff | May 24, 2018

The Lahainaluna High School National Honor Society welcomed new members during a ceremony on May 7.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School National Honor Society inducted new members during a ceremony on May 7.

Audrey Chihara, a Lahainaluna National Honor Society alumna, was this year’s guest speaker.

Initiates were: Class of 2019 – Dakota Delos Reyes, Alanarose Duran, Kylie Ines, Isabella Omura, Reece Pascua and Mei Lei Wegner; and Class of 2020 – David Advincula, Hailey Bogar, Eddy Cabading, Ryli Cherry, Makena Cowan, Nicole Dela Cruz, Deolian Domawa, Veronica Lara, Ciana Lins, Shanel Mangaoan, Challys Pascual, Jayden Pasz, Alexis Tamayo and Isabella Theobald.

They join these current members: Class of 2018 – Ryan Agbayani, Sheilaika Agbayani, Rowel Ansagay, Rachael Balagso, Krizhna Bayudan, Krystaleia Bettencourt, Natalie Brown, Francis Bui, Criselyn Cabading, Shirlene Companero, Darren Diga, Ayn Marie Eastridge, Maybel Galace, Mihana Ho, Bailey Honda, Kylee Kobatake, Dalton Lins, Alexis Matias, Eva Olson, Jerico Olpindo, CJ Palma, Charlene Ramos, Shane Ramos, Seth Richards, Lily Tran, Hannah Valencia, Leah Werblun and Nikki Zamani; and Class of 2019 – Kalea Acevedo, Joanna Acosta, Briana Bandy, Jay Baptista, Stacia Eng, Jean Marie Ganoy, Eunice Gaper, Citlaly Ramirez, Christina Tadeo, Grace Takemoto and Brooke Whitehead.

The National Honor Society, or NHS, was established in 1921 in Chicago, and the first chapters in Hawaii were established in 1932.

The letters S, L, S and C surround the flaming torch within the keystone emblem. Those letters stand for Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character, all of which are essential qualities of every NHS member.

To be eligible for membership, each member must carry a minimum of a 3.7 cumulative grade point average. Candidates who meet this initial criteria may request an application for admission detailing their academic awards and honors, community service activities and the leadership positions they have held, both in and out of school, beginning with ninth grade.

Teachers are then asked to evaluate the applicants who they know based on leadership, character and community service.

Finally, a faculty advisory committee reviews the students’ applications, along with teacher input, and determines which candidates will be offered membership.

This is an invitation that requires a formal, written acceptance from the candidate, which must be received by the advisor by a pre-determined deadline. A candidate who fails to formally accept the offer of membership prior to the deadline forfeits the offer.

After the Induction Ceremony, members are required to participate in all NHS-sponsored community service activities, as well as to complete at least one individual service project each quarter.

In years past, this has included trash detail at Plantation Days, after school tutoring, volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, as well as manning booths at the Banyan Tree Birthday Party and Chinese New Year celebration.

This year, students will be working at Primary and General Election polling sites. This is also the main fundraiser for NHS.

During commencement ceremonies, all graduating National Honor Society members are recognizable by the blue and gold stole worn over the graduation gown, with two-year members distinguished with blue and gold honor cords.

Under Faculty Advisor Ashley Olson, the NHS students’ 2017-18 Executive Board was comprised of President Hannah Valencia, Vice President Krystaleia Bettencourt, Secretary Kriznha Bayudan, Treasurer Francis Bui and Historian Leah Werblun.