homepage logo

Lahainaluna, Maui Prep holding graduation this week

By Staff | May 24, 2018

LAHAINA – The 243-strong Lahainaluna High School Class of 2018 will graduate on Sunday, May 27, from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the Sue D. Cooley Stadium on campus.

Up in Napili, the Maui Preparatory Academy Class of 2018 will graduate on Friday, May 25, at 6 p.m. on campus.

The Lahaina News’ graduation issue will follow the week of May 30, featuring photos of the Class of 2018 at both schools.

LHS recently notified parents and guardians that for the first time ever, the “Lei Ceremony” directly following graduation commencement will be held in Sue D. Cooley Stadium.

As this permission was given generously by the Lahainaluna High School Foundation and LHS Athletic Department, the school asks graduation attendees to follow rules to safeguard the new track and field:

1) Do not wear any kind of spiked heels on the track. The track can easily be punctured and damaged.

2) Stay off the football field; there will be a designated area around the track outlined by letters signifying where you can find your graduate (by last name).

3) Remain seated and stay in the stands until ALL graduates have reached their designated area and the emcee has concluded the ceremony.

4) No signs or balloons are allowed in the general seating area. Ample room will be supplied in the area behind the press box to store signs, balloons and large accessories.

“Thank you again and congratulations on your student graduating,” Principal Lynn Kahoohalahala concluded.

The 14-student Maui Preparatory Academy Class of 2018 is led by Valedictorian Griffin Sagar and Salutatorian Cassidy Otto.

The students are Kysha Altura, who will attend Fordham University; Vittoria Barone (University of Redlands); Danielle Bergson (University of San Diego); Akiva Bluh (University of San Diego); Tristen Ellen (Musicians Institute); Sarah Golestani (Tulane University); Jake Houglum (University of Hawaii at Manoa); Beau Johnston (University of San Diego); Artur Kedzierski (Drew University); Thuy Ngo (University of Arizona or University of Hawaii Maui College); Otto (University of Portland); Sagar (University of Vermont); Dante Silva, who will pursue a professional surfing career; and Mioh Wakasa (UH Maui College).

Outstanding/Honors students include Sagar, the Senior Class president, National Honor Society president and Rotary Interact Club treasurer; Otto, the Student Body president in 2016-17, National Honor Society secretary and

Rotary Interact Club vice president; Bergson, the Rotary Interact Club president in 2015-16 and vice president in 2016-17, National Honor Society secretary, Citizen of the Year in 2016 and HAIS Vision Award Recipient; Golestanti, the Rotary Interact Club president in 2016-17, National Honor Society vice president and MEDSCO representative for Student Senate; and Altura, the Student Body vice president and member of the Rotary Interact Club and National Honor Society.