homepage logo

Community congratulates seniors at Lahainaluna, Maui Prep

By Staff | May 25, 2017

Congratulations to the Lahainaluna High School Class of 2017, which graduated Sunday evening. Here, senior Boarders lead the class in singing “Yonder Lahaina Mountains” during the ceremony at Sue D. Cooley Stadium. PHOTO BY SEN. ROZ BAKER.

LAHAINA – Led by Valedictorians Shania Abut, Alana Power and Kristel Yagyagan, the Class of 2017 graduated from Lahainaluna High School on Sunday evening.

The graduating class of nearly 200 seniors (photos begin on page 10) walked the line in their commencement ceremony at Sue D. Cooley Stadium on campus, attended by adoring family, friends, dignitaries, alumni, administrators and staff.

Lahainaluna’s school community saluted the seniors as they completed their four years at Lahainaluna and transitioned from keiki in the community to young adults setting out for college, the military and careers.

The memorable evening was highlighted by the lighting of the 30-foot “L” above the historic school on Pu’u Pa’u Pa’u (Mount Ball) by alumni after the diplomas were handed out, as well as the post-ceremony throng of families, friends and fellow students greeting the graduates and covering them with lei.

Asked how she will remember the Lahainaluna Class of 2017, Senior Class Advisor Pakalana Phillips said, “This class is a very athletic, vibrant, creative class.”

Alumni light the "L" on Mount Ball during Lahainaluna High School's graduation ceremony on Sunday evening. PHOTOS BY WADE HIRAGA.

Her farewell message? “I just hope they do the best they can in whatever endeavor they choose!”

Up in Napili at Maui Preparatory Academy, commencement exercises will be held on Friday evening, May 26, at 6 p.m. on campus.

All who want to celebrate the Class of 2017 (see page 14) are welcome. The featured guest speaker will be Maui Prep graduate and Ultimate Waterman World Champion Zane Schweitzer.

Maui Preparatory Academy had its biggest and most successful graduating class in its 12-year history. Twenty-one seniors will be attending colleges locally, regionally, nationally and internationally.

Led by Co-valedictorians Alexa Narayan and Kamryn Perry, together the class has earned more than $3 million in total scholarship awards for all university acceptances.

The graduating seniors and the schools they are attending are: Jonah Bluh, University of California at Berkeley; Sarah Dils, Les Roches International School of Hotel Management, Switzerland; Zachariah Giles, California Polytechnic State University of San Luis Obispo; Elizabeth James, St. Mary’s College of California; Jonathan Jerome, Hawaii Pacific University; Sophia Johnston, University of San Diego; Coleman Kingwell, Gonzaga University; Jessica Kingwell, Gonzaga University; Nolan Lehman, University of Hawaii at Manoa; Lexie Leon, Nova Southeastern University; Aniel Morey, Westmont College; Layla Nabavi, American University; Alexa Narayan, Duke University; Cole Nielson, Marist College; Daniel Ornelas, University of Hawaii at Hilo; Kamryn Perry, Gonzaga University; and Adam Quandt, Concordia University.