homepage logo

WMTA Annual Meeting to feature important community announcements

By Staff | Jan 12, 2017


LAHAINA – The West Maui Taxpayers Association (WMTA) will hold its Annual Meeting on Thursday, Jan. 12, at the Lahaina Civic Center Social Hall. The public is invited to this always-informative event.

Complimentary food service catered by Maui Food Style will begin at 5 p.m., followed by a short business meeting at 5:30 p.m. ?

The major purpose of the meeting is to have elected officials address issues of interest to the West Maui community, and to have special presentations on major projects impacting the isolated West Side community.

Confirmed guest speakers for the 2017 Annual Meeting are: Sixth District Sen. Rosalyn Baker; a message from the governor; Tenth District Rep. Angus McKelvey; Maui County Mayor Alan Arakawa; West Maui County Councilwoman Elle Cochran; Don Smith of the state Department of Transportation; Lauren Armstrong of the Maui Metropolitan Planning Organization; Tom Yamachika of the Tax Foundation of Hawaii; and a representative from the Maui Nui Marine Resources Council.

An introduction on the Hawaii Hazards Awareness and Resilience Program (see page 3) will be offered by Sharon Mielbrecht, Hawaii mitigation specialist; Anna Foust of the Department of Emergency Management on Maui; and General Bruce Olivera of the state Department of Emergency Management.


Kaloa Robinson, project manager at Stanford Carr Development, will provide an update on Kahoma Village in Lahaina, and Ted ?Lennon will discuss plans to redesign and develop new projects around Kaanapali Golf Courses.

Akaku: Maui Community Media will tape the event for later re-broadcast.

Last year, nearly 300 attendees enjoyed the interesting community presentations on WMTA top issues, including the West Maui Hospital and Medical Center and affordable housing.

For more information on the Annual Meeting or WMTA, visit “http://www.westmaui.org”>www.westmaui.org.

West Maui Taxpayers Association is led by President Rick Nava; Vice President, Treasurer and President Emeritus Joseph Pluta; and Directors Mike Burr, Lee Chamberlain, Mariah Gill,?Dr. Kelly Harnick, Richard Jarman, Ezekiela Kalua, Donna Lorenz, Gregg Nelson, John Seebart and Fereshteh Tali.