homepage logo

Erin Dertner wins 28th annual Poster Contest

By Staff | Aug 25, 2016

Erin Dertner’s “Waterfront Aglow” won Lahaina’s 28th annual Poster Contest.

LAHAINA – Erin Dertner’s “Waterfront Aglow” won Lahaina’s 28th annual Poster Contest with a grand prize of $2,500 sponsored by LahainaTown Action Committee.

The winning art becomes the limited edition official Lahaina Poster for 2017.

Additional prizes include the Lahaina Arts Society Award of $250 won by Darice McGuire for “Lahaina Harbor Sunset.” McGuire was also awarded a $100 Honorable Mention sponsored by the McKelvey family.

The Most Promising Artist award of $100 sponsored by Cool Cat Cafe went to Rich Kenny for “Sailing into Lahaina.”

The People’s Choice award sponsored by Pioneer Inn was given to Sarah Williams for “Mana Ke Elima.”

The judges were Kim Von Tempski, three-time winner Carleton Kinkade and Nisla Hickman, director for Vladimir Kush Gallery.

All of the original artwork is on display and for sale until Sept. 5 at the Old Lahaina Jail Gallery located in the Old Lahaina Courthouse. The gallery is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The official Lahaina Poster is limited to 1,000 prints. It will be available starting Dec. 3, 2016 at the Lahaina Visitor Center in the Old Lahaina Courthouse, which is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., as well as online at www.visitlahaina.com.

LahainaTown Action Committee promotes, encourages and preserves the historical, cultural, social and commercial vitality of Lahaina, the town and destination. LAC was formed by business owners and residents in 1988 to preserve the historic integrity, re-kindle the small town atmosphere and promote the uniqueness of Lahaina.