homepage logo

Boomvangers award scholarships

By Staff | Aug 18, 2016
This year’s scholarship recipients include (from left) Anis Bel, Dean Omura, Sophia Jorgensen, Dylan Berbazal and Emerald Lynch.
Scholarship recipients and members of the Lahaina Yacht Club Scholarship Committee pose with LYC Commodore Jeff Kaiser. Pictured, from left, are: back row — Suzanne Ayers, Debbie Waller, Cheryl Johnson, Diane Sowers, Dean Omura, Sophia Jorgensen, Dylan Berbazal, Cindy Bloom and Shannon Woods; front row — Meryl Michaels, Sharon Lynch, Anis Bel, Emerald Lynch, Commodore Kaiser, Barbara Greenhaigh and Lori Powers.

LAHAINA – The Lahaina Yacht Club Boomvangers last week announced their 2016 scholarship recipients.

For 33 years, the Boomvangers have awarded scholarships to deserving young adults in our community.

This year, eight scholarships were awarded, totaling over $5,000.

The scholarship recipients, and the colleges they are attending, are: Mike Nguyen, University of Notre Dame; Sophia Jorgensen, Connecticut College; Dylan Michael Berzabal, University of California Los Angeles; Emerald Lynch, Seattle University; Dean Omura, University of Portland; and Anis Bel, Oregon State University.

Perpetual scholarships were awarded to Junna Gazmen at the University of Portland and Stephanie Lawless at the University of British Columbia.