homepage logo

Lahainaluna High School Foundation awards $201,000 in scholarships

By Staff | Jun 16, 2016

From left, Lahainaluna High School Foundation Board Secretary Nancy Cross, Kelia Stecker, Asti Archangel, Fritz Ruiz, August Guest and LHSF Board Member Rob Shelton are pictured at the LHS Senior Scholarship & Awards Ceremony.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School Foundation presented 49 student scholarships at the LHS Senior Scholarship & Awards Ceremony on May 10 for a total of $201,000 in available funding.

In addition, two teacher awards were distributed at the staff meeting on May 18.

This year, four new scholarships were added, and three other scholarships returned.

First-year scholarships and their recipients were: Mark & Judy Ellman: Mikino Kumagai; Na Hoaloha Ekolu: Tikki Bisbee; Luly Baker: Trystin Kalua; and Lahaina Fish Co.: Michael Doan.

Returning scholarships and their recipients were: Front Street: Max Becerra; Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club: Kylie Salvador; and Mike Nakano’s Ka Ipukukui ‘A Mau Pio ‘Ole I Ke Kaua’ula Scholarship: Jasmyn Swangel.

Appearing for the last time was the Fred Izumi ’52 Legacy Scholarship, which began in 2007 and was funded by a ten-year annuity. This year’s recipient was Calen Matsuda.

“Our sincerest thanks to the new, returning and past scholarship donors, and to those who have been supporting Lahainaluna seniors for many years,” the foundation noted.

Those scholarships and their recipients include: Maureen Setsuko Ariyoshi Memorial: Kaylee Harmon; Bank of Hawaii: Michael Serafica; Boss Frog’s Dive & Surf: Kamal-Craig Golaube; Ebrahim Gabbay, MD, Memorial: Bridgette Cuaresma; Kihachiro J. Hotta Memorial: Natasha Currence; Ilocandia Filipino Store: Kyri Parananda; Kaanapali Land Management: Blaine Casil; Sgt. James Kusuda Memorial: Jacob Mahon; Lahainaluna Boarder’s Association: Jacob Mahon; Lahainaluna High School Foundation: Kelia Stecker, Asti Archangel, August Guest and Fritz Ruiz; Makana Aloha Foundation: Mike Nguyen; Holly & Rob Manning-Homes & Land Magazine of Maui: Tiffany Nguyen; RVN Restaurant: Emerald Lynch; Roy & Betty Sakamoto: Anis Bel; Alfredo “Fred” Sarian: Anis Bel; Steven R. Strong, MD, Memorial: Joanna Aceret; Territorial Savings Bank: Haleigh Berko; Tournament of Champions: Jarret Pascual; The Masters at Kaanapali Hillside-Blaze Kalilikane Memorial: Justin Inovejas; TS Restaurants-Duke’s/Kimo’s/Leilani’s/Hula Grill: Caitlyn Villatora, Danielle Sulliban, Kaile Kron, Caylyn Villatora; and Valley Isle Community Federal Credit Union: Jasmyn Swangel.

Arica Lynn received the Dr. James Kumagai Teacher Scholarship. The Wallace Fujii Teacher Recognition Award was given to Cassie-Ann Jacinto.

A complete listing of donors and recipients will be posted on the foundation website soon.