homepage logo

Lahainaluna High School Foundation awards more than $170,000 in scholarships

By Staff | Jun 11, 2015

From left, Lahainaluna High School Foundation Scholarship Committee member Penny Wakida; recipients Audrey Casicas, Ennah Cabading, Jacob Ramirez and Rondilyn Franz (accepting for Kerek Franz); and LHSF Board President Mark Tillman are pictured at the 2015 Scholarship Awards Ceremony.

LAHAINA – The 2015 Scholarship Awards Ceremony was held on May 6 at Lahainaluna High School’s new cafeteria. The Lahainaluna High School Foundation presented 43 administered scholarships from 29 different donors for a total awarded amount exceeding $170,000.

This year’s awards included three new scholarships – two created and funded by Lahainaluna alumni. The first, the Karen Ancheta Pruitt-Women in Technology Scholarship, presented two $1,000 awards. It was awarded to Genevieve Layante and Kateryna Zhembrovska.

Ancheta Pruitt, a 1997 LHS alumnus, went on to attend George Washington University in Washington, D.C. She developed the foundation’s first website in 2006. Her scholarships were created to encourage young women to pursue degrees/careers in the arts (graphic, animation, web design/development), engineering, math, science or technology fields.

The inaugural $500 Mint Green House Scholarship was awarded to Ennah Cabading. It was created for a graduating senior who will be continuing his or her education in health services, business administration, aviation and air traffic control, or second language studies. This scholarship is funded by LHS graduates Eileen Joy Domingo (’05), Princess Karen Galano (’09), Jasmine Domingo (’12) and Daniel Galano (’13).

The $500 Holly & Rob Manning Maui Magazine Scholarship, another first-year award, was presented to Rhyn Lendio.

Scholarships returning this year, in alphabetical order, were awarded to: $1,000 Maureen Ariyoshi Memorial, Lucas Bell; $1,000 Bank of Hawaii, Paola Lara-Jacobo; Front Street, up to $35,000 renewable, was renewed to Lorelie Vistacion, Chelsey Erickson-Vierra and Jeremy de Gracia; $1,000 Ebrahim Gabbay, M.D., Memorial, Meilani Lei Galace; $2,000 Kihachiro Hotta Memorial Endowed, Ken Brito; $1,000 Hyundai Tournament of Champions, Max Linder; $2,000 Fred Izumi ’52 Legacy, Sophia Fredy; Shigeru & Toyoko Ichiki Endowed ($10,000 each) to Cuong Tran and renewed to Candace Hanneman, Junna Gazman and Cheyenne Baltonado; $1,000 Kaanapali Land Management, Anthony Simon Jr.; $1,000 Lahainaluna Boarder’s Association, Raybeka Sinenci; $1,000 Lahainaluna High School Foundation, Kerek Franz, Ennah Cabading, Jacob Ramirez and Audrey Casicas; $5,000 Makana Aloha Foundation awarded to Nicole Aceret and renewed to Juleen Flory, Haley Robb and Josh Gaastra; $500 RVN Restaurant, Shaina Saribay-Talena; $1,500 Roy & Betty Sakamoto Renewable awarded to Noah Howins and renewed to Karen Galuardo and Makenna Stockham; $1,000 Alfredo Fred Sarian Memorial, Kapono Lindsay; $2,500 Steven R Strong, M.D., Memorial, Chantelle Lizada Baclay; $1,500 H&K Takenaga Legacy, Kaile Stockham; $1,000 Territorial Savings, Leiana Beyer; $1,000 The Masters at Kaanapali Hillside-Blaze Kalilikane Memorial, Aaron Herrera-Xavier; four $1,000 TS Restaurants (Duke’s Beach House, Hula Grill, Kimo’s, Leilani’s on the Beach), Paola Lara-Jacobo, Kaile Stockham, Janessa Pagdilao-Bala and Aaron Herrera-Xavier; $500 Valley Isle Community Federal Credit Union Scholarship, Conner Mowat.

The foundation also awarded the $1,000 Matsue and Late Hisao Fujii Teacher Recognition Award to Victoria Zupancic, and the $1,000 Dr. James Kumagai (’52) Teacher Scholarship to Jennifer Valenzuela.