homepage logo

Eleven LHS students inducted into National Honor Society

By Staff | May 21, 2015

Students who joined the Lahainaluna High School Chapter of the National Honor Society include (from left): front — Christian Yagyagan, Shania Abut, Kylie Salvador, Maybell Benito and Jamille Andres; and back row — Alana Power, Analiza Galuardo, Cooper Vanderlaan, Antonio Bak, Kristel Yagyagan and Keana Dunn.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School Chapter of the National Honor Society held its Induction Ceremony on May 12 in the Samuel Kamakau Library at the top of the historic campus.

The NHS is the nation’s leading secondary school organization that recognizes students for exemplary leadership, scholarship and community service.

The program was led by organization advisor Ashley Olson and current NHS President Kaile Stockham. The event featured commemorative speeches from distinguished alumnus Mariah Gill, as well as special guest Dawn Amano-Ige, first lady of Hawaii.

The 11 initiates included juniors Maybell Benito, Keana Dunn, Kylie Salvador and Christian Yagyagan, and sophomores Shania Abut, Jamille Andres, Antonio Bak, Cooper Vanderlaan, Kristel Yagyagan, Alana Power and Analiza Galuardo.

The current NHS officers include President Stockham, Vice President Nicole Aceret, Secretary Michael Galace, Treasurer Chantelle Baclay and Historian Rana Ann Sarian.

Senior members are Leiana Byer, Jazzlyn Bonds, Katya Brody, Mark Cabida, Tiffany Cao, Kerek Franz, Meilani Galace, Beatriz Haro, Paola Lara, Anthony Simon, Jeffrelyn Tagayuna and Cuong Tran.

Junior members are Joanna Aceret, Max Becerra, Anis Bel, Bridgette Cuaresma, Kamal Golaube, Ericson Lago, Michelle Lazarte, Calen Matsuda, Mike Nguyen, Fritz Ruiz, Danielle Sulliban and Kathleen Yagyagan.