homepage logo

Ten Maui students awarded scholarships

By Staff | Jun 26, 2014

HONOLULU – Maile Naito from King Kekaulike High School and Santana Huck of Maui Preparatory Academy were recognized as district finalists and awarded $3,000 scholarships from The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc.

Seanna Yoshioka of Henry Perrine Baldwin High School, Kirsten Gilchrist of Lahainaluna High School, Melissa Tyler Pascua of Lanai High and Elementary School, Alexandra J. Pardico of Maui High School, Kiloaulani Kaawa-Gonzales of Molokai High School, Ryan Foree of Kamehameha Schools-Maui, Rowan Mulligan from Seabury Hall School and Lucas Broadbent of St. Anthony Junior-Senior High School each received $1,000 scholarships.

The students were among 62 recipients – one from each qualifying public and independent school in the state – who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the foundation awarded $98,000 in scholarships this year.

District finalist Huck, whose outstanding academic and athletic achievements earned him school awards for several consecutive years and a place in the National Honor Society, is an active member of student government and a member of several of the school’s sports teams. Recently selected by Rotary to attend the Global Peace Forum, Santana is the son of Erika and Marcus Huck.

Mamoru and Aiko Takitani founded Hawaiian Host Inc., manufacturer of Hawaiian Host chocolates, and established the Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. to give back to the community by providing the gift of education to the young people of Hawaii. Since 1993, the foundation has annually presented scholarships to an outstanding student from every qualifying high school in the state and has awarded over $1.9 million in scholarships.