homepage logo

Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club awards scholarships

By Staff | Jun 26, 2014

Pictured at the scholarship presentation are (from left) Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club President Daryl Fujiwara; LahainaTown Action Committee Executive Director Lynn Donovan; scholarship winners Kylie Keale-Smith, Ho‘olai‘ikeao Cabanilla and Nikki-Lee Asio; and Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club Secretary and Scholarship Chair Toddy Lilikoi. PHOTO BY LISA VILLIARIMO.

LAHAINA – The Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club awards two scholarships a year to Native Hawaiians seeking degrees in higher education – one to a member in good standing and one to a graduating high school senior from Lahainaluna High School. The award amounts vary depending on fundraising efforts throughout the year.

This year, the club was able to award five scholarships totaling $1,500 to Kylie Keale-Smith, Kawena Murray, Lithe Pokipala-Waiohu, Ho’olai’ikeao Cabanilla and Nikki-Lee Asio.

The five scholarships were made possible through the support of Betty’s Beach Cafe at 505 Front Street (special mahalo to Eddie Valencia-Laver and his staff), LahainaTown Action Committee and Lahaina Town Second Friday events.

Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club invites you to join them every Second Friday at Campbell Park on Front Street for ono kalua pig and rice. Proceeds support their scholarship program.