homepage logo

2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions field finalized

By Staff | Jan 2, 2014

Featuring an exciting field of major, multiple and first-time winners on the 2013 PGA Tour, the Hyundai Tournament of Champions starts Thursday at The Plantation Course in Kapalua. PHOTO BY DENTON JOHNSON.

KAPALUA – After a six-week hiatus, the 2013-14 PGA Tour season will resume in exciting fashion at the winners-only Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

The tournament is exclusive to tour winners from the 2013 calendar, creating one of the most competitive and elite fields of the season.

Major winners, multiple winners and first-time winners will all kick off 2014 at one of the most beautiful stops on tour, The Plantation Course at Kapalua.

Major winners Jason Dufner (PGA Championship) and Adam Scott (The Masters) in 2013 will be joined by two-time winners in 2013, Matt Kuchar and Brandt Snedeker, and 13 first-time winners, including Rookie of the Year Jordan Spieth.

The field also includes PGA Tour stars Zach Johnson, Bill Haas and Webb Simpson, who own 19 victories collectively and bring The President’s Cup team members in the field to eight.


The 30 winners in the field own 91 total PGA Tour victories, four major championships, two The Players Championships and three World Golf Championships.

“The tournament is thrilled to see so many of the game’s best players return to Kapalua, and to welcome so many new faces,” said Nancy Cross, executive director of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

“From major winners to first-time winners, the players in the field broke records and made history during 2013, which is what makes this one of the most exciting weeks on tour all year.”

The final field for the 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions also includes Dustin Johnson, Jonas Blixt, Billy Horschel, Ken Duke, Boo Weekley, Kevin Streelman, Martin Laird, Brian Gay, Chris Kirk, Michael Thompson, D.A. Points, Patrick Reed, Derek Ernst, Russell Henley, Ryan Moore, Gary Woodland, Sang-Moon Bae, Harris English, Scott Brown, Jimmy Walker, Woody Austin and John Merrick.

For the first time, PGA Tour fans will choose a featured pairing in the first round of a tournament at the 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

Defending event champion Dustin Johnson will be paired with 2013 Masters champion Scott, 2012 FedExCup champion Snedeker or six-time PGA Tour winner Kuchar in the first round.

The pairing will be revealed on Wednesday, Jan 1, when professional practice rounds are slated.

On Thursday, Jan. 2, gates open at 7 a.m. for the Hyundai Tournament of Champions Pro-Am. Admission is free.

On Friday, Jan. 3, gates open at 9 a.m. Following an Aloha Kick-Off with Hawaiian blessing by Clifford Nae’ole, the first round of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions begins at 10:30 a.m.

The second round of the tournament starts at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday, Jan. 4. Gates open at 7 a.m.

The Hope on Wheels 5K Run/Walk starts at 8 a.m. on Saturday at Whalers Village (see article on page 3).

On Sunday, Jan. 5, gates open at 9 a.m., with play in the third round starting at 10:30 a.m.

And on Monday, Jan. 6, gates open at 8 a.m. The final round of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions is slated to begin at 8:30 a.m., with the trophy presentation scheduled at 3 p.m. on the 18th green.

All four competitive rounds of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions will be broadcast on the Golf Channel.

Tickets can be purchased at PGATOUR.com/Hyundai. Youth 18 and younger are admitted free of charge when accompanied by a ticketed adult.

Parking is free for fans in 2014, with shuttles running from the Honua Kai Resort all week and from Whalers Village on Sunday and Monday.

Follow the tournament on Facebook at www.facebook.com/HyundaiTOC or Twitter at @HyundaiTOC for updates.