homepage logo

LHS Foundation awards $135,000 in scholarships

By Staff | Jul 11, 2013

The Front Street Scholarship, an anonymous renewable scholarship for up to $35,000 a year, was awarded to Chelsey Erickson-Vierra (second from left). Also pictured are (from left) Leslie Hiraga, Louise Abihai, Lana Vierra and Alvin Vierra.

LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School Foundation’s scholarship program has gone from six scholarships totaling $6,000 12 years ago to 47 scholarships adding up to $135,000 this year.

According to the foundation, this dramatic increase is a testament to the individuals and businesses of West Maui that believe in the students and want to help with their pursuit of higher education.

Richard “Noosh” Nishihara, this year’s LHSF Scholarship Committee chair, commented, “LHSF is proud to be the sponsor of such an effective, supportive scholarship program. There would be no program without the work of the foundation, its donors and the Lahainaluna faculty and staff working in unison to ensure that the program succeeds.

“The foundation is extremely grateful for all the financial and administrative support it receives.”

Awarded in May, first-year scholarships included The Masters at Kaanapali Hillside-Blaze Kalilikane Memorial Scholarship for $1,000 awarded to Jade Chihara, the Dr. Brendan Krause Chiropractor Scholarship for $500 awarded to Hope Morikawa and the Sgt. James S. Kusuda Memorial Scholarship for $1,000 awarded to Robert Griffith.

The long list of scholarships and recipients includes: Hotta Memorial Scholarship, $1,500, to Gaylord Garcia; Boss Frog Dive and Surf Scholarship, $1,000, Ezra Baccar; Central Pacific Bank Scholarship, $1,000, Jeannie Ramelb; Fred Izumi Legacy Scholarship, $2,000, Bailey Pendergast; H&K Takenaga Legacy Scholarship, $1,500, Marella Galace; Illocandia Scholarship, $500, Abigail Haduca; Kaanapali Land Management Scholarship, $1,000, Jordan Baclay; Lahainaluna Boarders’ Association Scholarship, $1,000, Jessica Wallace; and Class of 1956 Scholarship, $1,000, Reilly Pasion.

TS Restaurants presented four $1,000 scholarships: the Duke’s Restaurant Scholarship to Julian Bel-Robert, Kimo’s Restaurant Scholarship to Aja Toscano, Leilani’s on the Beach Restaurant Scholarship to Ryan Ragudo and Hula Grill Restaurant Scholarship to Bridget Joy.

The Lahainaluna High School Foundation presented $1,000 scholarships each to Jessica Wallace, Vincent Magno and Paige Cajudoy, and the Academy of Hospitality and Tourism Scholarship to Leslie Mina.

Additional scholarships include The Alfredo Fred Sarian Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 to Kekukuulani Haake; Maureen S. Ariyoshi Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 to Andrew-Ray Espiritu; Ka Ipukukui Scholarship of $1,000 to Rhys Lendio; RVN Restaurant Scholarship of $500 to Kanoelani Delatori; Steven Strong, M.D., Memorial Scholarship of $2,500 to Jenina Pascua; Territorial Savings Bank Scholarship of $1,000 to Kayshya Saribay; Valley Isle Federal Credit Union Scholarship of $500 to Mark Alamon; West Maui Veterans Club Scholarship of $1,000 to Lakeisha Ching; Tadashi Sato Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 to Eryn Pendergast; and Lily Nagaoka Takenaga Scholarship of $1,000 to Leslie Garo.

The West Maui Federal Credit Union awarded $1,000 scholarships to Esther Arvizu, Makana Kaaikala-Caban, Amanda Matsuda, Ivy Tejada and Vincent Sarian.

The Roy and Betty Sakamoto Scholarship for $1,500 went to Makenna Stockham. Leilani Miranda and Lewilyn Gitierrez received scholarship renewals.

The Makana Aloha Foundation Scholarship for $5,000 was awarded to Haley Robb. Receiving scholarship renewals were Joshua Gaastra and Emma Baccar.

The S&T Ichiki Scholarship for $5,000 was awarded to Junna Gazman, and renewed scholarships were awarded to An Hua, Jing Hua and Cheyenne Baltonado.

The Front Street Scholarship, an anonymous renewable scholarship for up to $35,000 a year, was awarded to Chelsey Erickson-Vierra. Jeremy de Gracia received a renewed scholarship.