homepage logo

Tillman leads Lahainaluna High School Foundation

By Staff | Nov 15, 2012

The Lahainaluna High School Foundation’s executive officers are, from left, Craig Murakami, vice president; Steven Raymond, treasurer; Mark Tillman, president; and Nancy Cross, secretary. PHOTO BY LOUISA SHELTON.

LAHAINA – At its recent Annual Meeting, the Lahainaluna High School Foundation board elected new executive officers. Mark Tillman, a board member who served as Athletics Committee chair, was elected president.

He succeeded Rob Shelton, who decided it was time to pass on the torch after serving as president since the foundation’s inception.

Also elected were Craig Murakami, who will serve as vice president; Nancy Cross, secretary; and Steven Raymond, treasurer.

Shelton noted, “It has been a great honor serving as president since 2000. Our resources and opportunities have reached every area of the school, and we are very grateful for the tremendous support we have received over the years. I am especially thankful for the support of Lahainaluna High School, the Hawaii Community Foundation, The Makana Aloha Foundation, Sue Cooley and to all of our business partners, alumni and community donors who value the importance of Lahainaluna High School.”

Shelton recognized retiring directors Andy Kutsunai and Dr. Darcel Gilbert for their years of service to the foundation.

Kutsunai was applauded for his chairing of the Scholarship Committee, which topped the $500,000 mark this year in scholarships awarded.

He also thanked Diane Delos Reyes, Leslie Hiraga, Jeff Rogers, Richard “Noosh” Nishihara and Matthew Erickson for their work with the foundation.

“We have an excellent team with strong values and a deep commitment to Lahainaluna. There is no doubt they will continue to inspire people to support the efforts of the foundation, leading it to the next level. I look forward to working with Mark Tillman and his team and seeing the stadium project to completion next year. Hosting our first night football game at ‘The Imu’ will be a historic and memorable event,” Shelton said.

Tillman has been part of the unique fabric that makes Lahaina so special for over 25 years, after moving here in 1987 to raise his family and establish the TCBY franchise.

Currently working as an account executive with Williams & Associates, Tillman’s community work has included service to LahainaTown Action Committee, the Lahaina Intermediate School PTSA, King Kamehameha III School SCBM, Theatre Theatre Maui and Kumulani Chapel. Tillman is married to Claire Tillman; they have five children.

“It is a great privilege to have been nominated and elected as the next president of the Lahainaluna High School Foundation. Succeeding Rob Shelton is a daunting task, and as the saying goes, ‘he’s a very tough act to follow.’ Rob’s vision for what could be has become infectious with not only myself but all of our board members, and we relish the challenge to carry on that vision,” Tillman said.

Since its beginning, the foundation has worked tirelessly to help make Lahainaluna a better place with a spirit of cooperation, first with Principal Mike Nakano and now with his successor, Principal Emily DeCosta.

“We will continue together to make Lahainaluna ‘The Best High School West of the Rockies,’ ” said Tillman.

In related activities held during the meeting, Lorene Akiona and Betty Sakamoto were elected to the board. They, along with Lester Nakamoto, Shelton, Walter Vierra and Susan Yap, were all appointed to two-year terms to the board. They join Myrna Ah Hee, Nishihara and Lanny Tihada, who have one year left in their term.

Lahainaluna High School Foundation is a nonprofit organization founded in 2000 to provide “A superior high school experience for all Lahainaluna students.”