homepage logo

Lahainaluna students inducted into National Honor Society

By Staff | May 10, 2012

The Lahainaluna High School National Honor Society 2012 initiates include (from left): front — Zoe Miller, Maile Amine, Ho‘o Cabanilla, Ezra Baccar, Candace Hanneman, Jenina Pascua, Kailey Sager, Abigail Haduca, Mary Varquez, Lorilei Visitacion and Ivy Delos Reyes; back row — Kirsten Gilchrist, Stephanie Lawless, Maile Altier, Breea Yamat, Vincent Sarian, Jessa Emmerich, Gaylord Garcia, Lithe Pokipala-Waiohu, Karen Galuardo and Jeannie Ramelb. (Rose Millard is not pictured.)

LAHAINA – There was a brilliant glow radiating from the Samuel Manaiakalani Kamakau Library on the Lahainaluna High School campus on April 30, as 22 of the school’s brightest new stars were inducted into the National Honor Society Chapter of the historic campus.

Having surpassed the strict scholarship, leadership, character and community service standards to gain NHS admission, the sophomores and juniors were honored in an induction ceremony before current members of the esteemed organization, advisors, administrators and their parents and family members.

Chapter President Mikah Franz was the master of ceremonies. Franz gave the opening remarks as Vice President Paige Casil lit the candle of leadership, Secretary Haley Robb the candle of scholarship, Treasurer Lakiesha Ching for character and Historian Makena Stockham for service.

Lahainaluna language arts teacher and organization advisor Ashley Olson then gave the NHS pledge to the initiates.

Vice Principal Joanne Dennis presented the students with their membership cards after they lit their own ceremonial candles.

The new inductees include juniors Ezra Baccar, Gaylord Garcia, Ivy Delos Reyes, Abigail Haduca, Jeannie Ramelb and Jenina Pascua, and sophomores Maile Altier, Jessa Emmerich, Candace Hanneman, Zoe Miller, Vincent Sarian, Breea Yamat, Maile Amine, Karen Galuardo, Stephanie Lawless, Lithe Pokipala-Waiohu, Mary Varquez, Ho’o Cabanilla, Kirsten Gilchrist, Rose Millard, Kailey Sager and Lorilei Visitacion.

Current NHS members include seniors Paige Casil, Roven Malijana, Ashley Probst, Janine Balicao, Mikah Franz, Kulia Murray, Loa Uehara, Cheyenne Baltonado, Kiara Galiciano, Leilani Miranda and Kiana Yamat; and juniors Jade Chihara, Marella Galace, Makana Kaaikalo-Caban, Amanda Matsuda, Eryn Pendergast, Makena Stockham, Julian Bel-Robert, Lakiesha Ching, Leslie Garo, Rhys Lendio, Leslie-Ann Mina, Malia Refamonte, Jessica Wallace, Paige Cajudoy, Andrew-Ray Espiritu, Junna Gazmen, Vincent Magno, Bailey Perndergast and Haley Robb.

After the ceremony, a photo session was held, followed by refreshments in the library courtyard.

According to NHS advisor Olson, this was one of the largest groups of NHS initiates in years, adding to the growing number of bright-minded leaders at Lahainaluna. Imua!