homepage logo

Foundation to honor ‘Legends of Lahainaluna’

By Staff | Nov 17, 2011


LAHAINA – The Lahainaluna High School Foundation will hold the inaugural “Legends of Lahainaluna” event on Thursday, Nov. 17, in the Pioneer Inn Courtyard.

This event will honor up to three individuals who have significantly contributed to the success of the school, or alumni/staff who have gone on to contribute significantly to their communities.

Coming from various walks of life, the nominees include former students, faculty, community leaders and others who have contributed to the Lahaina community and the development of the school.

The nominees for the inaugural Legends program are: Clifton Akiyama, Dr. Charles Araki, Henry “Bruno” Ariyoshi, Sue Cooley, Art Fillazar, Lori Gomez Karinen, Pedro Haro, Robert Kawaguchi, Lanny Tihada and The Westin Maui Resort and Spa.

ESPN West Coast Anchor Neil Everett will emcee the program, which will include music, live and silent auctions, heavy pupus, beverages and desserts.

A $100 ticket donation per person is suggested, with net proceeds designated to the foundation’s Endowment Fund.

Items to be offered in the auctions include “staycation” packages from Exotic Estates on Maui, Wailea Beach Marriott, Grand Wailea, Grand Hyatt Kauai and The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua; a gourmet, chef-inspired dinner for four with private cellar wine offerings at the home of Gunars and JoRene Valkirs; and a variety of activities and merchandise.

Visit www.re-dotheimu.com to make a donation or contact Legends Chairman Jeff Rogers at lhsf08@yahoo.com for more information.

For information on the Lahainaluna High School Foundation, call 661-5332.