homepage logo

Lahainaluna Foundation distributes more than $83,000 in scholarships

By Staff | Jul 21, 2011

Jostin Carbajal receives the Breana Polynesian Clothing & Gifts Scholarship from donor Diana Wallace and her daughter, Breana.

LAHAINA — This year, the Lahainaluna High School Foundation was honored to have 33 donors for a total of 49 Lahainaluna student scholarships. Eleven awards were new.

LHSF also presented two teacher awards, up from one last year.

The foundation both funds and administers donated scholarships for the benefit of Lahainaluna’s students, including students from around the state who are members of the Boarding Department.

LHSF Scholarship Committee Chairman Andrew Kutsunai said, “We are truly grateful to the many contributors from our community who came forward this year with their generous contributions to help finance the education of our recent graduates. LHSF participated in the school’s Senior Scholarship and Awards Program at the Royal Lahaina Hotel on May 11 and made our scholarship presentations to 49 very happy graduates and two very appreciative teachers. In the ten years since our foundation began its scholarship program with six scholarships totaling $6,000, we have grown to 51 student and teacher awards totaling $83,920 this year and have given a total of $393,370 over those years.”

At the awards program, Kutsunai and LHSF Executive Director Leslie Hiraga presented two students with $1,000 endowed Lahainaluna High School Foundation Scholarships: Krystille Bayudan and Gerald Cabagua. LHSF Alumni & Community Relations Chairman Matthew Erickson presented the $1,000 endowed LHSF Academy of Hospitality & Tourism Scholarship to Christine Galano.

Lahainaluna High School Foundation Scholarship Committee member Lydia Saribay awarded the RVN Scholarship to Dezirea Acker (left) and the Ilocandia Scholarship to Devyn Wyckoff (right).

New awards this year included the Maureen Setsuko Ariyoshi Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 to Roleen Agbayani; Breana Polynesian Clothing & Gifts Scholarship of $500 to Jostin Carbajal; LHS Class of 1960’s two $1,000 scholarships to John Bui and Shelby Liburd; Class of 1961 scholarship of $1,000 to LaTisha Cajudoy; Class of 1996 scholarship of $500 to Stephen Adolfson; Ilocandia Scholarship of $500 to Devyn Wyckoff; $1,000 Fumio & Kiku Nishimoto Memorial Scholarship to Hana boarder Kazia Lecker; RVN Restaurant Scholarship of $500 to Dezirea Acker; Roy & Betty Sakamoto Scholarship of $1,500 to Lewilyn Gutierrez; The Makana Aloha Foundation $5,000 Scholarship to Emna Baccar; and the $1,000 West Maui Veterans’ Club Scholarship to Sharon Hashimura.

For the first time, a teacher award named “Okage Sama De” (I am what I am because of you) honoring Matsue and the Late Hisao Fujii, parents of the donor and retired Baldwin High School principal and LHS graduate Wallace Fujii, went to veteran teacher Ann Katahara. Additionally, faculty member Keola Rogat received the $1,080 Kumagai Teacher Scholarship.

Kazuichi Hamasaki of Kahului presented the $1,200 Kihachiro J. Hotta Memorial Endowed Scholarship to four-year boarder and Kahakuloa resident Kamaile Ho’opi’i. Hamasaki is a boyhood friend of the late Kihachiro Hotta, a LHS boarder from the late 1930s who was killed in action in WWII as a member of the 442nd. Hamasaki has presented this award since it began in 2002.

For the eighth year, the following awards were made: ‘Imi Na’Auao (To Seek Education) Scholarship of $1,500 to Malia Moore; and the $1,000 Michael M. Nakano Scholarship to Emalee Cabading.

Now in its seventh year, two $1,000 West Side Friends for Higher Education Scholarships — funded by anonymous Maui residents — were presented to Krystal Cacal and Alaka’i Smith-Kaukini.

Roy and Betty Sakamoto presented their scholarship to Lewilyn Gutierrez.

Returning as donors this year, the LHS Class of 1956 awarded $1,000 to Heather Azcueta, and West Maui Tongan Catholic Ministry provided $500 to Tyler Tuipuloto.

For five continuous years, the following scholarships have been funded and awarded: $8,000 Shigeru and Toyoko Ichiki Scholarships to Lake Casco, Elizabeth Lagbas, Jing Hua and An Hua; $2,000 Fred Izumi Legacy Scholarship to Brynne Johnson; and $1,000 Tadashi Sato Memorial Scholarship to Rose Bacolini.

Honoring the memory of Jeanne Riley’s parents, for the fourth year, the Lillian and Robert Wright Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 was awarded to Cherise Milanio.

Funded for four years, the $1,000 Hyundai Tournament of Champions Scholarship was presented to Hija Mae Bautista.

Presented for the third year were the following scholarships: $500 Central Pacific Bank Scholarship to Ciara Allen; $500 Kaanapali Land Management Corp. Scholarship to Ty Scott; $500 Lahainaluna Boarders Association Scholarship to Veronica Coston, a four-year boarder from Kahakuloa; Leilani’s on the Beach/TS Restaurants Scholarship of $1,000 to Chelsea Brink; Hula Grill/TS Restaurants Scholarship of $1,000 to Kristel-Jay Cabading; Kimo’s/TS Restaurants Scholarship of $1,000 to Chaney Countryman; and Duke’s Beach House/TS Restaurant Scholarship of $1,000 to Kristen Fuller.

Returning scholarships presented again this year include Bank of Hawaii ($1,000) to Justine Misay, Boss Frog’s Dive & Surf ($1,000) to Kawehi Kina, Alfredo “Fred” Sarian Agricultural Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) to Dalena Duong, The Dr. Steven Strong Memorial Scholarship of $2,500 to Kaila Nip, $500 Valley Isle Community Federal Credit Union and $1,000 West Maui Community Federal Credit Union Scholarships to Johnley Agbayani; $1,000 West Maui Community Federal Credit Union Scholarship to David Arcangel; $1,000 West Maui Community Federal Credit Union Scholarship to Marcella Biho; and $1,000 West Maui Community Federal Credit Union Scholarship to Mark Olpindo.

Funding for the three following scholarships was provided by the H&K Takenaga Advised Fund: $1,000 Lily Nagaoka Takenaga Scholarship to Wilma Elefante, $1,000 second year H&K Takenaga Legacy Scholarship to Celine Munoz, and $1,500 H&K Takenaga Legacy Scholarship to Chase Rogers.

The LHSF Scholarship Endowment Fund and Ichiki and Hotta endowed scholarship funds are managed by the Hawaii Community Foundation.

Interest from these funds and designated donations funded by groups and individuals are administered by LHSF, making it possible to offer scholarships to Lahainaluna students.

For information regarding the Lahainaluna High School Foundation and its scholarship programs, contact Hiraga at 661-5332 or e-mail lhsfoundation@hawaiiantel.net.