homepage logo

Luna band members honored

By Staff | Jun 30, 2011

Sean White and Ann Marie Lindsey were honored with 2010 National School Choral Awards. Photos by Imaging Plus Hawaii.

LAHAINA — Lahainaluna High School Music Performing Arts recently presented four national music awards to four outstanding students at the Music Department Banquet held at the Royal Lahaina Resort.

Brandon Galarita was presented with the 2011 John Philip Sousa Band Award, which honors the top student in a high school band and recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication.

Created in 1955, the award was developed with the cooperation of daughters Helen Sousa Albert and Priscilla Sousa. It is the pinnacle of achievement for high school band students.

Sean White and Ann Marie Lindsey were recognized with 2010 National School Choral Awards — the highest honor for high school choral performers. The award recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of the top male and female choral students.

Aleia Natividad was presented with the 2011 National School Marching Award for her outstanding contribution to the Luna Marching Band.

Aleia Natividad has been in the Lahainaluna High School Marching Band for the past two years. She will return as the drum major for the 2011-12 school year.

Enrolled in the program for four years, the following students received customized Music Department jackets for their contributions to the program: Shasha Aguinaldo, Chanel Guzman Lopez, Leonardo Chad Mallari, Aida Moala, Kaila Nip, Nathan Pallett, Kanaina Raymond, Elizabeth Sanchez, Sean White and Kalen Willits.