homepage logo

Lahainaluna students join National Honor Society

By Staff | May 19, 2011

Pictured at the National Honor Society induction are (from left): front — Junna Gazmen, Bailey Pendergast, Jolimar Espiritu, Janine Balicao, Amanda Matsuda, Paige Cajudoy, Haley Robb, Jessica Wallace, Roven Malijana, Serena Motelewski, Marella Galace, Eryn Pendergast and Malia Refamonte; back row — Leslie Garo, Leilani Miranda, Rhys Lendio, Kulia Murray, Monet Mussa, Vincent Magno, Julian Bel-Robert, Makana O Kalanai Kaaikalo, Makena Stockham, Lakiesha Ching, Leslie-Ann Mina, Jade Chihara and Andrew Espiritu.

LAHAINA — Twenty-six Lahainaluna High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society in a ceremony held on May 10 at the Samuel Manaikalani Kamakau Library.

The inductees included five juniors and 21 sophomores, who gained membership into the Lahainaluna NHS chapter by qualifying through the four organization principles of Leadership, Scholarship, Character and Service.

The new members are juniors Janine Balicao, Leilani Miranda, Kulia Murray, Roven Malijana and Serena Motelewski, and sophomores Julian Bel-Robert, Paige Cajudoy, Jade Chihara, Lakiesha Ching, Andrew-Ray Espiritu, Jolimar Espiritu, Marella Galace, Leslie Garo, Junna Gazmen, Makana O Kalanai Kaaikalo, Rhys Lendio, Vincent Magno, Amanda Matsuda, Leslie-Ann Mina, Monet Mussa, Bailey Perdergast, Eryn Pendergast, Malia Refamonte, Haley Robb, Makena Stockham and Jessica Wallace.

Current Lahainaluna NHS President Kristen Fuller delivered opening remarks. Fuller and eight other valedictorians in the Lahainaluna Class of 2011 — Stephen Adolfson, Emna Baccar, Hija Mae Bautista, Chantel Charkas, Chaney Countryman, Koral Gill, Brynne Johnson and Kaila Nip — will graduate on Sunday, May 22, at 6:30 p.m. at Boarders’ Field on campus. (Photos of graduation and members of the class will be featured in the May 26 Lahaina News.)

Princess Nahi’ena’ena Elementary School Principal Lynn Kaho’ohalahala, a former Lahainaluna administrator, also spoke.

“Congratulations and remember to carry on the principles of NHS to the other students of Lahainaluna,” said Kaho’ohalahala in her keynote address to the gathering, which included the current members and the families of the inductees.

Fuller then spoke on the principle of leadership, Nip delivered an address on scholarship, Bautista discussed character and Johnson talked about service.

The induction ceremony was led by Fuller, and the membership cards and certificates were presented by LHS Principal Emily DeCosta and Vice Principal Joanne Dennis.

The current NHS advisor is Steven Cornel. Membership includes President Fuller, Vice President Nip, Secretary Bautista, Historian Johnson and Treasurer Charkas.

Senior members are Adolfson, Johnley Agbayani, Baccar, Emalee Cabading, Latisha Cajudoy, Alexandrea Cardenas, Countryman, Christine Galano, Gill, Keri Lauricio and Malia Moore.

Junior members are Kailani Amine, Cheyenne Baltonado, Glelynn Paige Casil, Mikah Franz, Kiara Galicinao, Ashley Probst, Loa Uehara and Kiana Yamat. The advisor will be Ashley Olson.