homepage logo

PGA Tour to launch with SBS Championship in Kapalua

By Staff | Dec 24, 2009

Geoff Ogilvy won the 2009 tournament.

KAPALUA — Kapalua Resort this year welcomed Seoul Broadcasting System (SBS) as the new title sponsor of the PGA Tour’s season-opening, winners only event on Jan. 4-10, 2010 at The Plantation Course.

Around 34 PGA Tour professionals will compete for the first title of the 2010 season.

The elite field will face off for their share of the $5.6 million purse.

The event will begin Monday and Tuesday, Jan. 4-5, with professional practice rounds.

On Wednesday, Jan. 6, a pro-am tournament is slated.

The SBS Championship’s first three rounds will be held Jan. 7-9, with the final round set for Sunday, Jan. 10.

The Golf Channel is scheduled to televise the event from 10:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Jan. 7, 1 to 5:30 p.m. on Jan. 8 and 9, and 1 to 5 p.m. on Jan. 10. Times are subject to change; check local listings.

Eligible PGA Tour professionals competing in the 2010 SBS Championship consist of champions from the 2009 tour season.

This unique field will compete on The Plantation Course for all four rounds.

The following players have qualified for the event and have until Jan. 1, 2010 to commit to the SBS Championship: Geoff Ogilvy, Zach Johnson, Pat Perez, Kenny Perry, Nick Watney, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Mark Wilson, Y.E. Yang, Michael Bradley, Retief Goosen, Tiger Woods, Paul Casey, Angel Cabrera, Brian Gay, Jerry Kelly, Sean O’Hair, Henrik Stenson, Rory Sabbatini, Steve Stricker, Brian Gay, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink, Bo Van Pelt, Nathan Green, John Rollins, Ryan Moore, Heath Slocum, Matt Kuchar, Martin Laird, Troy Matteson and Stephen Ames.

For event information, call 665-9160 or visit www.kapalua.com. To purchase tickets, call (877) 772-5425.