homepage logo

Foundation awards $40,000 in scholarships

By Staff | Jun 11, 2021

LAHAINA — Lahaina Restoration Foundation recently awarded scholarships totaling $40,000 to seniors and alumni of Lahainaluna High School.

Scholarships were awarded to 12 graduating seniors. Awarded $1,000 each are Alexa Acosta, Abigail Akamine, Cassia Arnold, Jordan Beam, Kahealani Garcia, Evan Koyama, Sosefina Riley and Charlise Wurts. Awarded $1,500 each are Lance Abut and Anthony Nunez. Caitlin Baclay and Akira Foreman each received $2.000.

In addition, 12 LHS alumni received awards. Yasmine Chadli, Kylie Ines and Brook Whitehead each received $1,000. Briana Bandy, Jolimar Espiritu, John Bernard Flores, Citlay Ramirez, Lily Tran, Hanna Valencia and Kaila Wilkinson each received $2,000. Krizhna Bayudan was awarded $3,000, and Nikki Zamani was awarded $5,000.

In their essays, applicants described the impact of COVID-19 on their education and on their families.

This year, LRF had a record number of applicants and was thus able to award more scholarships than in any previous year.

The foundation congratulates all the scholarship recipients and wishes them a very successful 2021-22 college year.