homepage logo

Foundation administers $142,500 in scholarships

By Staff | Jun 11, 2021

LAHAINA — The Lahainaluna High School Foundation is pleased to announce that this scholarship season, it administered 67 student scholarships, including renewals, for a total award amount of $142,500.

The recipients are as follows:

New scholarships — Eugene Takenaga Memorial ($2,500) to Ashley Akamine; Ted Toshikiyo Memorial ($2,500) to Manuel Castro; Charley Pride Memorial ($1,500) to Akira Foreman; Lahainaluna Class of 2001 (three for $1,000) to Taai Galoia, Shaelia Pascua and Ho’okipa Sakalia; and Lahainaluna High School Foundation (four for $500) to Caitlin Baclay, Ariana Pacleb, Rebecca Segura and Kiana Tuttle.

Continuing their support for this important program are scholarships in the amount of $500: Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club to Ashley Akamine; TS Restaurants (four scholarships) to Liam Chadli, Shaelia Pascua, Avrilyne Quimangan and Rebecca Segura; and the Bonnie Ann Fijal Memorial to Kiana Tuttle.

Scholarships for $1,000 include: 5A Rent-A-Space to Anthony Nunez; Maureen Setsuko Ariyoshi Memorial to Victoria Vera; Vaughn & Luly Baker to Arianna Pacleb; Bank of Hawaii/Lahaina Branch to Elizabeth Ankney; Boss Frog’s Dive & Surf to Kulia Phillips; Ebrahim Gabbay, M.D. Memorial to Caitlin Baclay; Blackie Gadarian Vocational to Andrew Claydon, Jose Lara Lopez and Isaiah Niles; Kaanapali Land Management Corp. to Evan Koyama; Sammy Kadotani Service Award to Patricia Morales; Blaze Kalilikani Memorial to Nalani Kirkman; Kapalua Maui Charities to Laiekawai Tancayo; Brian Kelly Memorial to Cassia Arnold; Andrew Kutsunai Future Teacher to Ashley Akamine; LBA- Earl “Chief” Kukahiko Memorial to Sean Freitas; Lahainaluna High School Foundation to Sosefina Riley, (AOHT) Kalalealea Mirkovich, Cassia Arnold and Jesabel Alibin; Michael M. Nakano Leadership Award to Lance Abut; Alfredo “Fred” Sarian Memorial to Nalani Garcia; Territorial Savings Bank/Lahaina Branch to Erika Ramos Lagunas; Maui County Federal Credit Union to Abigail Akamine, Manuel Castro, Liam Chadli, Dawson Nolasco and Avrilyne Quimangan; Red Phoenix to Jorden Beam, Samuel Kahaialii and Malia Pitzer; Shelton ‘Ohana to Alexa Acosta and renewals to Rory Delaney, Briana Bandy and Nicole Slusser; and the Phoebe Toshikiyo Takenaga Scholarship to Charlise Wurts.

Other scholarships include the $1,500 Roy & Betty Sakamoto to Jumar Dela Cruz (as well as renewals to Shanel Mangaoang, Reece Pascua and Lily Tran); $1,500 H&K Takenaga Legacy to Kendall Beam; $2,000 Kihachiro J. Hotta Memorial Endowed to Sean Freitas; $2,500 Steven R. Strong, M.D. Memorial to Abigail Akamine; $5,000 Makana Aloha Foundation to Cael Yasutake (as well as renewals to Rory Delaney, Hannah Brock and Eva Olson); $15,000 Shigeru & Toyoko Ichiki Endowedto Kokoro Yamazaki (as well as renewals to Challys Pascual, Stacia Eng and Ryan Agbayani).

The foundation also awarded two $1,000 Dr. James Kumagai-Andrew Kutsunai Scholarships for Lahainaluna teachers. This year’s recipients are Teva Medeiros and John N. P. Ho’omanawanui.

“Our thanks to all the donors who continue to support this community through the LHSF Scholarship Program. Best of luck to this year’s graduating class,” the foundation noted.

For more information, visit www.lahainalunahighschoolfoundation.net or call 661-5332.