homepage logo

Mayor congratulates Charter Commission nominees

By Staff | Feb 19, 2021

WAILUKU — Mayor Michael Victorino congratulated nominees to the Maui County Charter Commission after they were recommended for approval last week Tuesday by the County Council’s Government Relations, Ethics and Transparency Committee.

“This vitally important commission is charged with a once-in-a-decade review of our county’s constitutional backbone,” Victorino said. “I look forward to this commission’s work in exploring ways to make our government more effective, productive and responsive in serving our residents.”

The 11-member commission includes two appointees by Victorino: David DeLeon and Karey Kapoi.

County Council members each had one appointee. They are: Grant Chun, nominated by Council Chair Alice Lee; Keoni Kuoha, nominated by Council Vice Chair Keani Rawlins-Fernandez; Kelson Kauanoe Batangan, nominated by Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama; George Purdy IV, nominated by Councilmember Gabe Johnson; Paul Deslauriers, nominated by Councilmember Kelly King; Lance Collins, nominated by Councilmember Mike Molina; Ashley Olson, nominated by Councilmember Tamara Paltin; Douglas Mardfin, nominated by Councilmember Shane Sinenci; and Doreen Canto, nominated by Councilmember Yuki Lei Sugimura.

Mayor Victorino said, “I encourage all residents to follow the commission’s progress closely and participate in the process of creating the best government possible to serve our people.”