homepage logo

Maui Rotary Clubs recognize HRYF Scholarship winners

By Staff | Aug 16, 2018

Hawaii Rotary Youth Scholarship winners include (from left): front row — Stephanie Bodin, Lino Yoshikawa, Macaleigh Hendricks and Darby Mulligan; back row — Shayne Thompson, Beau Johnston, Katherine Swor and Nikki Zamini. Not pictured are Kiki Bekkum and Milena Callilao.

KAHULUI – The ten Rotary Clubs on Maui and Lanai recently celebrated the recipients of the Hawaii Rotary Youth Scholarships. A celebration luncheon was held at Tante’s Island Cuisine.

Nine of the ten recipients attended along with a parent and representative from nine of the ten Rotary Clubs. Each recipient shared plans for their future schooling.

The Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation (HRYF) was founded by Maurice J. “Sully” Sullivan during his year as Rotary’s district governor in Hawaii in 1976-77.

It was Sully’s desire to help Hawaii high school graduates realize their potential by attending a college or university of their choice here in Hawaii or on the Mainland United States. He felt that HRYF could be the vehicle to teach young people about the advantages of the free enterprise system – the basis of our democracy.

Each recipient received $5,000 toward future college expenses. The students were selected by their sponsoring Rotary Clubs.

Recipients and their respective colleges of choice are: Katherine Swor, Baldwin High School, Saint Martin’s University; Kiki Bekkum, Hana High School, U. Mass Dartmouth; Stephanie Bodin, Kamehameha Schools Maui, Grand Canyon University; Macaleigh Hendricks, Kihei Charter High School, University of Southern California; Shayne Thompson, King Kekaulike High School, Texas A&M University; Nikki Zamini, Lahainaluna High School, University of Hawaii at Manoa; Milena Calilao, Lanai High School, George Fox University; Lino Yoshikawa, Maui High School, U.H. Hilo; Beau Johnston, Maui Preparatory Academy, University of San Diego; and Darby Mulligan, Seabury Hall, University of Puget Sound.

Zamini was selected by HRYF to receive a $10,000 scholarship award.

Zamani said, “I am very grateful to be the recipient of this scholarship. The financial support that HRYF provides helps students like me make my dreams a reality.”

Zamini will major in biology and plans on a career in medicine. She hopes to return to Maui to practice.

Mulligan also stated: “Working with Rotary while in high school has and will continue to show me that compassion is mightier than both the pen and the sword.”

The HRYF Scholarship Foundation is one of the many Youth Service Projects sponsored by the 51 Rotary Clubs in the State of Hawaii.

Rotary is a leadership organization made up of local business, professional and civic leaders. The members meet regularly, get to know each other, form friendships and get things done in the community.

For more information, contact HRYF Maui Trustee Joanne Laird at mamalrd01@gmail.com.