homepage logo

Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua honors top employees for 2016

By Staff | Mar 23, 2017

Pictured with General Manager Mike Kass (left) and Cultural Advisor Clifford Nae‘ole (right) are Five-Star winners (from left) Brandon Bernades, Elijah Agamata, Michael Achay, Ray Cairme and Daniel Amaya. Five-Star winner Bethany Glend is not pictured.

KAPALUA – The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua last week announced its Five-Star Employees of the Year for 2016: Michael Achay, Burger Shack; Elijah Agamata, Banquets; Daniel Amaya, In-room Dining; Brandon Bernades, Engineering; Ray Cairme, Housekeeping; and Bethany Glend, Front Desk.

A total of 132 employees were nominated over the course of 2016, with 16 quarterly winners who were considered for the Five-Star Employee of the Year recognition.

“We are so proud of each of the winners and nominees,” said Mike Kass, general manager of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua.

“Each one of them has truly earned this honor through their hard work and dedication. They exemplify our best and brightest talent and serve as an inspiration to all other Ladies and Gentlemen.”

The nominees and winners were recently celebrated at a gala event hosted at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua by the Executive Team with a five-star menu created by the resort’s culinary team. The grand finale was a show-stopping dessert complete with fire, smoke and tantalizing visual effects.

“These Ladies and Gentlemen are the best of the best,” said Daniel Schmidt, executive chef of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua. “They deserve a first-class experience befitting of their five-star performance. It was our pleasure to be part of this very special evening honoring their accomplishments.”

The Five-Star Recognition program was created to celebrate and recognize employees that set the standard in the dedication to their work, positive attitude and overall performance.

The hotel also congratulated the nominees that earned this recognition in 2016: David Bailey, Mike Burman, Lani Clarion, Aulani Delatori, Welkens Duarosan, Fely Flores, Juilet Golaube, Jez Gonsalves, Mayra Herrera, Martha Macias, Deanna Miller, Angela Miranda, Aaron Palone, Stephen Pedroza, Rebecca Reither, Wynne Simplot and James Stecker.