homepage logo

Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation awards scholarships

By Staff | Jun 2, 2016

The Maui Preparatory Academy Class of 2016 was led by Valedictorian Jamie Advincula and Salutatorian Nick Head. The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. recently awarded Advincula a $3,000 scholarship.

HONOLULU – The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. recently named 12 high school seniors from Maui and Molokai as recipients of its annual Legacy Scholarship awards.

Molokai High School senior Cendall Manley and Jamie Advincula from Maui Preparatory Academy received $3,000 scholarship awards as state finalists in the scholarship program.

Ten seniors from other public and independent schools on Maui each received $1,000 scholarships.

The students were among 66 recipients – one from each of the qualifying public and independent schools in the state – who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the foundation awarded $111,000 to students in its Legacy Scholarship Program this year.

Advincula was recognized as one of Maui Preparatory Academy’s distinguished students by achieving a place on the Headmaster’s List for all four years of high school. She was a member of the National Honor Society, the school’s cross country team, the student Senate for Maui’s District Student Council, the National Art Honor Society and the Rotary Interact Club.

The daughter of Dominga and Juan Advincula of Lahaina plans to attend Brown University in the fall.

Award recipients of $1,000 from the public schools in the Maui School District are Haleigh Berko of Lahainaluna High School, Nohea Stoner of Hana High & Elementary School, Julia Kimoto of Henry Perrine Baldwin High School, Casey Hearl of King Kekaulike High School, Nicholas Niimi of Lanai High & Elementary School, Alssie Casayuran of Maui High School and Joseph Baldwin of Kihei Charter School.

The Takitani award recipients of $1,000 for the Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS) are Mauliola Gonsalves of Kamehameha Schools Maui and Berry Beadles of Seabury Hall.

The $1,000 award recipient from the Hawaii Catholic Schools (HCS) on Maui is Micah Leval of St. Anthony Junior-Senior High School.

“Mr. and Mrs. Takitani’s legacy of commitment, dedication and generosity is honored each year through the Takitani Foundation,” said KSSK Radio personality Michael W. Perry, who serves as chairman of the board of the Takitani Foundation.

“The Takitanis knew hard work, innovation and commitment to excellence were key factors in their success with Hawaiian Host, and wanted to recognize those same qualities in Hawaii’s outstanding students with the opportunity to further their education.”

Mamoru and Aiko Takitani founded Hawaiian Host Inc., manufacturer of Hawaiian Host chocolates, and established the Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. to give back to the community by providing the gift of education to the young people of Hawaii.

Hawaiian Host donates part of the proceeds from the sales of Hawaiian Host products to the foundation in support of its scholarship programs.

Since 1993, the foundation has annually presented scholarships to an outstanding student from every qualifying high school in the state, awarding over $2.4 million in scholarships through its programs.