homepage logo

SBA Small Business Award nominations open for 2015

By Staff | Oct 9, 2014


HONOLULU – The U.S. Small Business Administration has opened nominations for prestigious SBA Small Business Awards for 2015.

The SBA honors continue to be one of the most competitive, comprehensive and visible awards presented to small businesses in the state.

With a record of recognizing excellence in small business for more than three decades, past SBA winners have included outstanding small companies such as PacRim Marketing, Highway Inn, Hoaloha Na Eha dba Old Lahaina Luau, Big Island Candies, Maui Soda and Ice Works, Koloa Rum and Pictures Plus.

Many of these business ventures have used SBA programs and services as they built outstanding firms in Hawaii. Nominations will be due by Dec. 8.

“We’ve changed up the SBA awards for 2015 to sharpen our focus on the key characteristics of entrepreneurial success and relevant stories about sustaining that success,” said Jane Sawyer, SBA district director.

“SBA’s Small Business Awards program continues to generate interest and excitement in Hawaii with stories of innovation, creativity and teamwork, and the positive, proactive measures that small business owners are taking to grow businesses, creating jobs and better communities.”

The 2015 SBA Small Business Award categories for the Hawaii District include SBA’s Small Business Person of the Year, Entrepreneurial Success Award, Family-Owned Small Business of the Year, Small Business Exporter of the Year, Young Entrepreneur of the Year and SBA Small Business Advocate of the Year.

Any individual or organization may submit a nomination for an SBA Small Business Award. Self-nominations are also accepted. For more information, call SBA at (808) 541-2990.