homepage logo

Mayor’s Small Business Award winners honored

By Staff | Mar 7, 2013

From left, Maui Chamber of Commerce President Pamela Tumpap, Mayor Alan Arakawa, Paris Nabavi of Cilantro Mexican Grill in Lahaina, and Maui County Council Chair Gladys Baisa are pictured at the awards ceremony.

WAILUKU – Mayor Alan Arakawa, in conjunction with the Maui Chamber of Commerce, last week announced the winners of the 2013 Mayor’s Small Business Awards.

The award ceremony was held on Feb. 21 at the King Kamehameha Golf Club.

“Small business is Maui County’s most important economic engine, and we should never forget the sacrifices that business owners make every day to keep their businesses operating,” said Arakawa.

“They take on risk, work long hours and put their personal assets on the line while providing jobs, services and goods to our community. We are fortunate to have such a strong small business community in Maui County and are privileged to honor them.”

The winners in each category are: Young Small Business Person of the Year – David “Boze” Kapoi of Pride Ink; Exceptional Small Business (ten or fewer employees) – Paris Nabavi of Cilantro Mexican Grill; Exceptional Small Business (11-25 employees) – David & Ululani Yamashiro of Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice LLC; Exceptional Small Business (26-50 employees) – Daniel Boren of Skyline Eco-Adventures LLC; and Outstanding Nonprofit Business – Habitat for Humanity Maui.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to the late Douglas Wayne “Butch” Akina and Sandra Akina of Akina Aloha Tours.

Event cosponsors include Bank of Hawaii, First Hawaiian Bank, Central Pacific Bank and Muneyiko & Hiraga Inc. SCORE and VIP Food Service also supported the event.