homepage logo

Lahainaluna students receive national music awards

By Staff | Jun 10, 2010


LAHAINA — Lahainaluna High School Music Performing Arts recently presented four national music awards to outstanding students at the Music Department Banquet at the Royal Lahaina Resort.

Josie Gomez was presented with the 2010 John Philip Sousa Band Award, which honors the top student in a high school band and recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication.

Created in 1955, the award was developed with the cooperation of daughters Helen Sousa Albert and Priscilla Sousa. It’s the pinnacle of achievement for high school band students.

Stephen Oberheim and Caitlin Panis were recognized with 2010 National School Choral Awards.

The award — the highest honor for high school choral performers — recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of the top male and female choral students.

Ryan Bartolome was presented with the 2010 National School Marching Award for his outstanding contribution to the Luna Marching Band.

Ryan has been in the marching band for the past four years and served as drumline section leader for the 2009-10 school year.

The following students were elected as 2010-11 Music Department Officers: Brandon Galarita, manager; Kalen Willits, assistant manager; Gavin Moffatt, secretary; Kaila Nip, treasurer; Leanne Alibin, uniforms; Zachry Bularon, equipment; Sierra Stevens, historian; and Aleia Natividad, librarian. Aleia will also serve as drum major for the 2010-11 Marching/Pep Band.

The following were elected to the 2010-11 Music Department Booster Board: Jamie Natividad, president; Barb Newton, vice president; Jon Shigaki, secretary; and Dawn Galarita, treasurer.

The following students were awarded prestigious music department jackets for participating in the music program for four years: Jhoana Agbayani, James Arruiza, Ryan Bartolome, Sheina Baybayan, Ryan Burns, Krizza Clarion, Cyril Domingo, Sabrina Escalera, Rossel Estillore, Dinah Lee Galam, Josie Gomez, Kiana Hayes, Darius Andre Lana, Jasmine Leal, Joshua Lung-Gat, DejaRhae Macugay, Marian Nguyen, Caitlin Panis and Anngirei Ruidas.

For a list of past award recipients, visit www.lahainalunamusic.org.